Adult Education
A SELECTIVE GUIDE TO LIBRARY RESOURCES

This Guide is designed to introduce you to resources covering Adult Education information.  Topics covered include historical, philosophical, sociological, and/or psychological foundations in Adult Education, with an emphasis in Community Education.  Items listed are available at or through F. D. Bluford Library.  The list is NOT meant to be comprehensive.  Questions regarding this list (or any question) should be directed to the F. D. Bluford Library Reference Desk.

Table of Contents:
 
Using the INNOPAC Encyclopedias
Handbooks Dictionaries
Indexes, Abstracts, and Databases Print Indexes
CD-ROM Databases Full-Text Databases
Bibliographic Databases Print Journals
Online Journals Internet Resources



Using the INNOPAC:

Establishing what books the library owns on your subject should be a top priority.  The INNOPAC catalog is the online public access catalog (OPAC).  This catalog consists of two version:  the original, text-based interface and a newer, user-friendly, web-browser interface.  Both versions can be accessed not only from the library, but also from any computer lab or from off campus through remote access.  The INNOPAC can be searched by AUTHOR, TITLE, KEYWORD, JOURNAL TITLE, and/or SUBJECT HEADING.  Use the KEYWORD search if you know neither specific books nor standardized subject headings.  These subject headings are accessible through four volumes of Library of Congress Subject Headings located near the workstations on the first floor.  Use the * (asterisk) or the "OR" operator to expand a small set to a larger set.  Strategic use of the Limit command and the "AND" operator can narrow down an
overwhelming list to a manageable size.



Encyclopedias:

A great place to start are encyclopedias.  Recognized authorities in the field write these articles.  These review articles provide background information on the
history, basic tenants, important persons, and other established facts or ideas significant to the topic.  The articles also provide bibliographic references to sources
with more in-depth analysis of your topic.  Always consult the index or table of contents for your topic, as your topic may be a featured article or only a portion of a
larger article

Encyclopedia of American education.  A&T REF  LB17 .U54 1996 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of educational research.  6th ed.  A&T REF   LB15 .E48 1992 v.1-4
The international education quotations encyclopaedia.  A&T REF   LB7 .I65 1995
The International encyclopedia of education.  2nd ed.  A&T REF   LB15 .I569 1994
Philosophy of education : an encyclopedia.  A&T REF   LB17 .P485 1996


Handbooks:

Handbooks can help you throughout your research by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas. Many handbooks are really
"mini-encyclopedias, " and provide review articles as described above.

Administering successful programs for adults : promoting excellence in adult, community, and continuing education.  A&T STACKS   LC5225.A34 G35 1997
Adult education : evolution and achievements in a developing field of study.  A&T STACKS   LC5215 .P436 1991
Adult education : the way to lifelong learning.  A&T LRC   LA201 .P15 no.334
Adult learning and development : perspectives from educational psychology.  A&T STACKS   LC5225.P78 A48 1998 Go to netLibrary Preview
The bases of competence : skills for lifelong learning and employability. A&T STACKS   LC1032 .E84 1998
Discovering radical contingency : building a postmodern agenda in adult education.  A&T STACKS   LC5225.S64 B34 1999
Educational research.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS   LB1028 .V88 1995
Enhancing creativity in adult and continuing education : innovative approaches, methods, and ideas.  A&T STACKS   LC5251 .N48 1999 no.81
Experiential learning : a new approach.  A&T STACKS   LC5251 .N48 no.62
Funding sources for K-12 schools and adult basic education.  A&T REF   LC243.A1 F85 1998
Handbook of adult and continuing education.  A&T REF   LC5215 .H25 1989
How do they know they know? : evaluating adult learning.  A&T STACKS   LC5251 .V42 1998
The importance of learning styles : understanding the implications for learning, course design, and education.  A&T STACKS   LB1060 .I46 1995
Learning and development : making connections to enhance teaching.    A&T STACKS    LB2331.2 .S55 2000
Learning in adulthood : a comprehensive guide.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS   LC5225.L42 M47 1999
The McGraw-Hill handbook of distance learning.   A&T STACKS   LC5805 .C58 1999
Measuring program quality in community-based adult literacy education : an authentic approach.  Thesis (M.S.).  A&T SPEC COLL THESES    LD3914.N7 P667 1996
Philosophical foundations of adult education.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS   LC5219 .E46 1995
The profession and practice of adult education : an introduction.  A&T STACKS   LC5251 .M456 1997
Professional teaching techniques : a handbook for teaching adults any subject.  A&T STACKS   LC5251 .N45 1994
Providing culturally relevant adult education : a challenge for the twenty-first century.  A&T STACKS   LC5219 .P75 1999
Quality education for all : community-oriented approaches.  A&T STACKS   LC196 .Q35 1997
Radical heroes : Gramsci, Freire, and the politics of adult education.  A&T STACKS   LC5225.S64 C63 1998
Selected writings on philosophy and adult education.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS   LC5219 .S44 1995
Successful dissertations and theses : a guide to graduate student research from proposal to completion.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS   LB2369 .M32 1992
What really matters in adult education program planning : lessons  in negotiating power and interests.  A&T STACKS   LC5251 .N48 no.69

Dictionaries:

Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in history.

A critical dictionary of educational concepts : an appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory and practice.  A&T LRC REF   LB15 .B29 1990
Dictionary of education.  A&T  REF   LB875 .D37 1972
Dictionary of education.  A&T REF   LB15 .G6 1959
A dictionary of education.  A&T REF   LB15 .R64 1982
The Facts on File dictionary of education.  A&T REF           LB15 S43 1988
An international dictionary of adult and continuing education.  A&T REF   LC5211 .J37 1990
Thesaurus of ERIC descriptors.  13th ed.  A&T REF   Z695.1.E3 E34 1995
Thesaurus of psychological index terms.  7th ed.  A&T REF   Z695.1.P7 T48 1994
Yearbooks: Videos:

Indexes, Abstracts, and Databases:

Books, handbooks, and encyclopedias do not contain the most recent research on your topic.  For this current research, you should consider using the print and/or
electronic indexes to find journal articles or conference papers discussing your topic.  You may need to consult more than one index and more than one format to
obtain a comprehensive working bibliography.  Databases permit more comprehensive searching for citations.  Searching is faster and more precise if you take
advantage of Boolean logic and controlled vocabulary.  Keyword searching should be used for "new" research topics.  Once an "excellent" article is discovered,
scan the subject headings and search again using those terms.  Online help is available for learning advanced searching techniques.

Print Indexes:

Access is gained to citations through author, subject, or keyword-in context (KWIC) indexes in annual cumulations.  Some indexes have controlled vocabulary described in accompanying thesauri while some indexes use unique classification codes or schemes.  Journal title abbreviations are explained at the front and/or back of the Index.

CD-ROM Databases:

The CD-ROMS are located in F. D. Bluford Library.  You cannot access the CD-ROMS through a modem from home.  If you want to search from outside F. D. Bluford Library, consider using NC LIVE and other databases available through the Library's Web Page.  http://www.library.ncat.edu/eresources/

The CD-ROMS are available on three Stand-Alone workstations.  Each workstation is numbered.  You must reserve time on a workstation by signing the clip-board at the Reference Desk.  Workstations may be reserved for non-consecutive, 30 minute intervals.  Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

Full-Text Databases:

Full-text resources contain the bibliographic citations AND the entire text of specified articles, documents, reports, papers or proceedings.  INNOPAC need not be
consulted for library holdings.  Most databases offer the option of downloading, printing, or e-mailing citations and/or articles.  Ask at the Reference Desk for
assistance.

Bibliographic Databases:

Bibliographic resources contain bibliographic citations  and abstracts of specific articles, documents, reports, papers or proceedings.  INNOPAC must be consulted
for library holdings.  Interlibrary loan is available to graduate students and faculty for items not owned.

NC Live

The statewide electronic library project -- named North Carolina Libraries and Virtual Education -- is a collaborative effort to provide access to electronic information as well as print resources housed in libraries statewide. By enabling each participating library to serve as a gateway to resources, NC LIVE will give every North Carolinian equal access to information that is critical to success in today's "Information Age."

Vendors participating in NC Live include, Chadwyck-Healey, EBSCOhost, Gale Info Trac, GaleNet, Grolier, netLibrary, OCLC FirstSearch, ProQuest, and SilverPlatter.  These vendors provide Internet based interfaces for locating bibliographic citations, abstracts, and/or full text of specific articles, documents, dissertations, papers or proceedings.  INNOPAC must be consulted for library holdings of non-full text items. Interlibrary loan is available to graduate students and faculty for items not owned.



Printed Journals:

The following summary list of journals can be located on the lower level of the library.  Current issues are near the service desk, bound volumes are shelved by a call number, and microfilm reels are in cabinets near the reader/printers.  INNOPAC contains not only the holdings for each journal but also the specific format for a specific year and/or volume.

Online Journals:

The following summary list of journals can be accessed directly online, through the databases indicated.  Holdings vary by database or vendor.  INNOPAC contains
some of the holdings for these journals but the specific database should also be consulted.



Internet Resources: