Engineering Resources
A SELECTIVE GUIDE TO LIBRARY RESOURCES

This selective guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist members of the Aggie community with research in all disciplines of Engineering.  It outlines a general approach to finding not only materials and resources housed in the F.D. Bluford Library but also electronic sources that may be accessed via the Internet or on CD-ROM. This guide will help students organize their research and at the same time give them some tips on research strategy. Remember that researching any topic can seem overwhelming.  Questions regarding this list (or any research question) should be directed to the F. D. Bluford Library Reference Desk.

Table of Contents:

 

Using the INNOPAC

Indexes, Abstracts, and Databases

Technical Reports

Encyclopedias

Print Indexes

Standards and Specifications

Handbooks

Electronic Indexes

Patents

Dictionaries

Journals

Internet Resources


Using the INNOPAC:

Establishing what books the library owns on your subject should be your top priority.  The INNOPAC catalog is the online public access catalog (OPAC) and identifies all the books, videos, journals, micrfoms, and other formats owned by the Library.  This catalog can be accessed not only from the library, but also from any computer lab or from off campus through remote access.  The INNOPAC can be searched by Author, Title, Keywords, Subject Headings, LC Call Number, Professor, or Course Name.  Use the Keywords search option if you know neither specific books nor standardized subject headings.  These subject headings are accessible through five volumes of Library of Congress Subject Headings located near the workstations on the first floor of the Library.  Use the * (asterisk) or the "OR" operator to expand a small set to a larger set.  Strategic use of the Limit command and the "AND" operator can narrow down an overwhelming list to a manageable size.


Encyclopedias:

A great place to start are encyclopedias.  Recognized authorities in the field write these articles.  These review articles provide background information on the history, basic tenants, important persons, and other established facts or ideas significant to the topic.  The articles also provide bibliographic references to sources with more in-depth analysis of your topic.  Always consult the index or table of contents for your topic, as your topic may be a featured article or only a portion of a larger article.

General Engineering

AccessScience @ McGraw Hill, The Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.  [Online Database]
Encyclopedia of Associations.  A&T REF                 AS25 .E5
Macmillan encyclopedia of science.  Rev. ed.  A&T REF                 Q121 .M27 1997 v.1-12

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of engineering.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TA9 .M36 1993

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of science & technology.  8th ed.  A&T REF                 Q121 .M3 1997 v.1-21

Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Encyclopedia of energy technology and the environment.  A&T REF                 TJ163.235 .E53 1995 v.1-4

McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of environmental science & engineering.  A&T REF                 GE10 .M38 1993

The Wiley encyclopedia of energy and the environment.  A&T REF                 TJ163.235 .W55 1997 v.1-2

Architectural Engineering

American architecture : an illustrated encyclopedia.  A&T REF                 NA705 .H36 1998

Encyclopedia of American architecture.  A&T REF                 NA705 .P3 1995

Encyclopedia of architecture : design, engineering & construction.  A&T REF                 NA31 .E59 1988 v.1-5

Encyclopedia of building technology.  A&T REF                 TH9 .E48 1988

Chemical Engineering

Encyclopedia of chemical technology.  4th ed.  A&T REF                 TP9 .E685 1991-98

Encyclopedia of polymer science and engineering.  A&T REF                 TP1087 .E46 1985

Polymeric materials encyclopedia.  A&T REF                TP1110 .P65 1996

Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry.  A&T REF  TP9 .U56

Civil Engineering

 

Computer Science

Encyclopedia of artificial intelligence.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 Q335 .E53 1992 v.1-2

Encyclopedia of software engineering.  A&T REF                 QA76.758 .E53 1994 v.1-2

The McGraw-Hill illustrated encyclopedia of robotics & artificial intelligence.  A&T REF                 TJ210.4 .G53 1994

Electrical Engineering

Encyclopedia of acoustics.  A&T REF                 QC221.5 .E53 1997

Encyclopedia of lasers and optical technology.  A&T REF                  TA1509 .E53 1991

The Froehlich/Kent encyclopedia of telecommunications.  A&T REF                  TK5102 .E646 1991

From talking drums to the Internet : an encyclopedia of communications technology.  A&T STACKS          P96.T42 G374 1997

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Concise international encyclopedia of robotics : applications and automation.  A&T REF                 TJ210.4 .C66 1990

Encyclopedia of operations research and management science.  A&T REF                 T57.6 .E53 1996

International encyclopedia of robotics : applications and automation.  A&T REF                 TJ219.4 .I57 1988 v.1-3

The McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of quality terms & concepts.  A&T REF                 HD62.15 .C668 1995

Mechanical Engineering

Concise encyclopedia of composite materials.  A&T REF                 TA418.9.C6 C635 1998

Encyclopedia of fluid mechanics.  A&T REF                 TA357 .E53 1986

Encyclopedia of materials science and engineering.  A&T REF                 TA402 .E53 1986

The encyclopedia of US spacecraft.  A&T REF                 TL788 .Y4 1985

International encyclopedia of composites.  A&T REF                 TA418.9.C6 E53 1990


Handbooks:

Handbooks can help you throughout your research by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas. Many handbooks are really "mini-encyclopedias, " and provide review articles as described above.

General Engineering

Americans with Disabilities Act handbook.  A&T REF                 KF3469 .P47 1991

CRC handbook of laboratory safety.  4th ed.  A&T STACKS              QD51 .C73 1995

The elements of information gathering : a guide for technical communicators, scientists, and engineers.  A&T STACKS  TK5105.4 .B49 1997

Handbook of dimensional measurement.  A&T REF                 T50 .F36 1994

How to write & publish a scientific paper.  A&T REF                 T11 .D33 1994

Information sources in engineering.  3rd ed.  A&T REF                 T10.5 .I49 1996

Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Agrochemicals desk reference : environmental data.  A&T REF                 TD196.A34 M66 1997

Annual review of energy and the environment.  A&T STACKS              TJ163.2  .A55

Clean water handbook.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 KF3790 .G35 1996

Environmental law handbook.  14th ed.  A&T REF                 KF3775 .E64 1997

Environmental technology handbook.  A&T STACKS              TD146 .S67 1996

Formula handbook for environmental engineers and scientists.  A&T STACKS              TD153 .B58 1998

Architectural Engineering

Architect's handbook of formulas, tables, and mathematical calculations.  A&T REF                 NA2750 B32 1988

The Architect's handbook of professional practice.  A&T REF                 NA1996 .A726 1988 v.1-4

Architecture : design, engineering, drawing.  6th ed.  A&T LRC TEXTBKS        NA2540 .S6 1991

ASHRAE handbook. Heating, ventilating, and air-conditioning applications. A&T STACKS              TH7015 .A74 1991

Building design and construction handbook.  5th ed.  A&T STACKS              TH151 .B825 1994

Building technology : mechanical and electrical systems.  A&T REF                 TH6010 .M24 1997

Classical architecture : a comprehensive handbook to the tradition of classical style. A&T STACKS              NA260 .A26 1991

Design professional's handbook of business and law.  A&T STACKS              KF902 .D45 1991

Electromechanical design handbook.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TJ163 .W35 1995

Energy business & technology sourcebook.  A&T REF                 TJ163.3 .E526 1997

Energy management handbook.  3rd ed.  A&T REF                 TJ163.2 .T87 1997

Handbook of air toxics : sampling, analysis, and properties.  A&T REF                 TD890 .K4 1995

Handbook of electrical and electronic insulating materials.  2nd ed. A&T REF                 TK3401 .S53 1995

Handbook of energy engineering.  4th ed.  A&T REF                 TJ163.2 .T49 1997

HVAC maintenance and operations handbook.  A&T STACKS              TH7011 .H82 1998

Passive solar design and construction handbook.  A&T REF                 TH7414 .P254 1998

Photovoltaics in buildings : a design handbook for architects and engineers.  A&T STACKS              TK1087 .P48524 1996

Principles of heating, ventilating, and air conditioning : a textbook based on the 1993 ASHRAE handbook - Fundamentals.  A&T STACKS              TH7012 .S28 1994

Project management for the design professional : a handbook for architects, engineers, and interior designers.  A&T STACKS              NA1996 .B84 1991

Standard handbook of structural details for building construction.  A&T STACKS              TH2031 .N4 1993

Steel designers' handbook.  6th rev. ed.  A&T REF                 TA684 .G65 1996

Chemical Engineering

Atlas of polymer and plastics analysis.  A&T REF                 QD139.P6 H8 1990

Compilation of EPA's sampling and analysis methods.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TD193 .C65 1996

The comprehensive handbook of hazardous materials : regulations, handling, monitoring, and safety.  A&T REF                 T55.3.H3 S23 1994

Databook of thermoset resins for composites.  A&T REF                 TP1180.T55 S73 1993

Handbook of bioremediation.  A&T REF                 TD878 .H36 1994

Handbook of chemical engineering calculations.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS              TP149 .H285 1994

Handbook of deposition technologies for films and coatings : science, technology, and applications.  A&T REF                 TP156.C57 D46 1994

Handbook of indoor air quality management.  A&T REF                 TD883.17 .M64 1997

Hazardous materials employee's handbook.  A&T REF                 T55.3.H3 C875 1994

Perry's chemical engineers' handbook.  7th ed.  A&T REF                 TP151 .P45 1997

Polyurethane handbook : chemistry, raw materials, processing, application, properties.  2nd ed.  A&T REF  TP1180.P8 P5713 1994

Civil Engineering

ACI manual of concrete practice.  A&T REF                 TA439 .A358 1993 pt.1-5

Building design and construction handbook.  5th ed.  A&T STACKS              TH151 .B825 1994

Civil engineering calculations reference guide.  A&T REF                 TA332 .C58 1987

The civil engineering handbook.  A&T REF                 TA151 .C57 1995

Concrete construction engineering handbook.  A&T REF                 TA681 .C743 1997

Cooper's comprehensive environmental desk reference.  A&T STACKS              GE123 .C64 1996

Environmental law handbook.  14th ed.  A&T REF                 KF3775 .E64 1997

Environmental technology handbook.  A&T STACKS              TD146 .S67 1996

Handbook of construction tolerances.  A&T REF                 TH851 .B35 1994

Handbook of structural engineering.  A&T REF                 TA633 .H36 1997

Hydropower engineering handbook.  A&T REF                 TK1081 .H94 1991

Means building construction cost data.  A&T READY REF                 TH435   .M417 2000

Means concrete cost data.  A&T STACKS              TA682.26 C66 1989

Means facilities construction cost data.  A&T REF                 TH435 .M425 1994

Means heavy construction cost data.  A&T STACKS              TH435 M429 1989

Means light commercial cost data.  A&T STACKS              TH4315 M43 1989

Means labor rates for the construction industry.  A&T STACKS              HD4966B92 U43 1994

Practical hydraulics handbook.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TC174 .H38 1996

Standard handbook for civil engineers.  4th ed.  A&T REF                 TA151 .S8 1996

Structural engineering handbook.  4th ed.  A&T REF                 TA635 .S77 1997

Transportation and traffic engineering handbook.  A&T STACKS              HE333 .T68 1982

Computer Science

Computer engineering handbook.  A&T REF  TK7888.3 .C652 1992

The computer science and engineering handbook.  A&T REF  QA76 .C57315 1997

Handbook of theoretical computer science.  A&T REF                 QA76 .H279 1994 v.A-B

Electrical Engineering

Antenna handbook.  A&T STACKS  TK7871.6 .A496 1993

The control handbook.  A&T REF  TJ213 .C6593 1996

CRC handbook of electrical filters.  A&T REF  TK7872.F5 C73 1997

The electrical engineering handbook.  2nd ed.  A&T REF  TK145 .E354 1997

Electrical safety handbook.  A&T REF  TK152 .C22 1994

Handbook for digital signal processing.  A&T REF   TK5102.5 .H318 1993

Handbook of electrical hazards and accidents.  A&T REF  RA1091 .H36 1995

Handbook of electric motors.  A&T REF   TK2514 .H26 1995

Handbook of fiber optic data communication.  A&T REF   TK5103.59 .H3515 1998

The industrial electronics handbook.  A&T REF                 TK7881 .I52 1997

The Irwin handbook of telecommunications.  A&T REF                 TK5102.3.U6 G74 1997

The satellite communication applications handbook.  A&T STACKS               TK5104 .E43 1997

Signal processing and its applications.  A&T REF                  TK5102.9 .S54 1993

Wireless networking handbook.  A&T REF                  TK5103.2 .G45 1996

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Applied ergonomics handbook.  A&T STACKS              TA166 .B89 1992

The constraints management handbook.  A&T STACKS              TS155 .C67 1998

Handbook of bioengineering.   A&T REF                 R856 .H36 1987

Handbook of design, manufacturing, and automation.  A&T STACKS              TS183 .H359 1994

Handbook of human factors and ergonomics.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TA166 .H275 1997

Handbook of industrial engineering.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 T56.23 .H36 1992

Handbook of manufacturing engineering.  A&T REF                 TS176 .H3365 1996

Handbook of reliability engineering and management.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TA169 .H36 1996

Human factors design handbook : information and guidelines for the design of systems, facilities, equipment, and products for human use.  2nd ed.  A&T REF          TA166 .W57 1992

The ISO 9000 handbook.  3rd ed.  A&T REF                 TS156 .I838 1997

Juran on leadership for quality : an executive handbook.  A&T STACKS              TS156 .J79 1989

Keller's official OSHA safety handbook.  3rd ed.  A&T REF                 T55 .K44 1996

Manufacturing engineer's reference book.   A&T REF                 TS176 .M3622 1993

Materials handbook : an encyclopedia for purchasing agents, engineers, executives, and foremen.  A&T REF  TA403 .B75 1997

Maynard's industrial engineering handbook.  4th ed.  A&T REF                 T56 .M39 1992

The plant operations handbook : a tactical guide to everyday management.  A&T REF                 TS155 .P523 1993

Project and cost engineers' handbook.  3rd ed.  A&T STACKS              TS167 .P76 1993

Quality management handbook.  2nd ed., rev. and expanded.  A&T STACKS              TS156 .Q363 1997  also available via netLibrary [Online Database]

TQM engineering handbook.  A&T STACKS              TS156.2 .S73 1997

Mechanical Engineering

Annual review of materials science.  A&T STACKS  TA401 .A7

ASM handbook.  10th ed.  A&T REF                 TA459 .M43 1990-1998 v.1-20

Composite materials handbook.  2nd ed.  A&T STACKS              TA418.9.C6 S38 1992

CRC practical handbook of materials selection.  A&T REF                 TA403.4 .S482 1995

Handbook of fluid dynamics and fluid machinery.  A&T REF                 TA357 .H286 1996

Handbook of materials selection for engineering applications.  A&T STACKS      TA403.4 .H37 1997

Handbook of mechanical engineering calculations.  A&T REF                 TJ151 .H327 1998

Handbook of turbomachinery.  A&T STACKS      TJ266 .H36 1995

Machinery's handbook. 25th ed.  A&T REF                 TJ151 .M3  1996

Mechanical engineers' handbook.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TJ151 .M395 1998

Mechanical engineering reference manual.  9th ed.  A&T REF                 TJ159 .L5 1994

Mechanisms : a mechanical designers' workbook.  A&T REF                 TJ230 .M343 1990

Rules of thumb for mechanical engineers : a manual of quick, accurate solutions to everyday mechanical engineering problems.  A&T REF                 TJ151 .R84 1996

Shock and vibration handbook.   4th ed.  A&T REF                 TA355 .S5164 1996


Dictionaries:

Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in history.  A Thesaurus can direct you to the terms used in a Print Index or Electronic Database.  As terminology changes over the life of a research topic, you must know all the words associated with a given topic.

General Engineering

Ei thesaurus.  A&T REF                 Z695.1.E5 E37 1995

INSPEC thesaurus.  A&T REF                 Z695.1.P5 I57 1999

Thesaurus of scientific, technical, and engineering terms.  A&T REF                 Z695.1.S3 T52 1988

Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Environment and the law : a dictionary.  A&T REF                 KF3775.A68 P38 1995

The environmental dictionary : and regulatory cross reference.  A&T REF                 KF3775.A68 K57 1995

Architectural Engineering

Architectural and building trades dictionary.  A&T REF                 TH9 .P82

ASHRAE terminology of heating, ventilation, air conditioning, & refrigeration.  2nd ed.  A&T REF  TH7007 .A848 1991

A concise dictionary of architecture.  A&T REF                 NA31 .J6 1990

The concise dictionary of architectural and design history.  A&T REF                 NA31 .J62 1992

Dictionary of architecture & construction.  A&T REF                 NA31 .H32 1993

Dictionary of energy technology.  A&T REF                 TJ163.8 .G54 1982

Illustrated dictionary of building materials and techniques : an invaluable sourcebook of the tools, terms, materials, and techniques used by building professionals.  A&T REF                 TH9 .B466 1993

Means illustrated construction dictionary.  A&T REF                 TH9 .M4 1991

Chemical Engineering

Chemical tradename dictionary.  A&T REF                 TP9 .A73 1993

Dictionary of chemical names and synonyms.  A&T REF                 TP9 .H65 1992

Dictionary of named processes in chemical technology.  A&T REF                 TP155.7 .C66 1993

Plastics technical dictionary : illustrated systematic groups.  A&T REF                 TP1110 .W53413 1992

Civil Engineering

ASM materials engineering dictionary.  A&T REF                 TA402 .A86 1992

Construction glossary : an encyclopedic reference and manual.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TH9 .S78 1993

The Contractors' dictionary of equipment, tools, and techniques :  for civil engineering, construction, forestry, open-pit mining, and public worksr.  A&T REF                 TA9 .W43 1995

Dictionary of building and civil engineering = Dictionnaire du batiment et du genie civil.  A&T REF                 TH9 .M66 1996

Dictionary of environment and development : people, places, ideas, and organizations.  A&T REF                 GE10 .C78 1993

The Dictionary of ecology and environmental science.  A&T REF                 GE10 .D53 1993

Dictionary of water and water engineering.  A&T REF                 GB655 .N35

Environment and the law : a dictionary.  A&T REF                 KF3775.A68 P38 1995

The environmental dictionary : and regulatory cross reference.  A&T REF                 KF3775.A68 K57 1995

Glossary of the mapping sciences.  A&T REF                 TA505 .G57 1994

Means illustrated construction dictionary.  A&T REF                 TH9 .M4 1991

Routledge German dictionary of environmental technology = Worterbuch Umwelttechnologie : Deutsch-Englisch/ Englisch-Deutsch.  A&T REF                 TD9 .R68 1997

Transportation-logistics dictionary.  A&T REF                 HE141 .T69

The Wiley dictionary of civil engineering and construction :  English-Spanish, Spanish-English.  A&T REF                 TA9 .K46 1996


Computer Science

Dictionary of artificial intelligence.  A&T REF                 Q334.2 .M47 1990

Electrical Engineering

Communications standard dictionary.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TK5102 W437 1989

Dictionary of communications technology : terms, definitions, and abbreviations.  2nd ed.  A&T REF                 TK5102 .H453 1995

Dictionary of power engineering.  A&T REF                 TK9 .D475 1993

The new IEEE standard dictionary of electrical and electronics  terms : (including abstracts of all current IEEE standards).  A&T REF                 TK9 .I478 1993

Newton's telecom dictionary : the official dictionary of computer telephony, telecommunications, networking, data communications,  voice processing and the internet.   8th ed.  A&T REF                 TK5102 .N485 1994

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Automation encyclopedia : A to Z in advanced manufacturing.  A&T REF                 TS176 .G72 1988

CAD/CAM dictionary.  A&T REF                 TS155.6 .P73 1985

The dictionary for human factors/ergonomics.  A&T REF                 TA166 .S77 1992

Glossary of reliability and maintenance terms.  A&T REF                 TS9 .M43 1997

Mechanical Engineering

ASM materials engineering dictionary.  A&T REF                 TA402 .A86 1992

Dictionary of composite materials technology.  A&T REF                 TA418.9.C6 L42 1989

Dictionary of machine tools and mechanical engineering.  A&T REF                 TJ1183 .J85 1992

Dictionary of materials and testing.  A&T REF                 TA402 .C83 1993

Dictionary of mechanical engineering.  A&T REF                 TJ9 .N28 1996

SAE dictionary of aerospace engineering.  A&T REF                 TL509 .C83 1992

SAE glossary of automotive terms.  A&T REF                 TL9 .S17 1992

SAE thesaurus : a guide to the use of index terms for the SAE electronic database.  A&T REF                 Z695.1.A93 S23 1988


Indexes, Abstracts, and Databases:

Books, handbooks, and encyclopedias do not contain the most recent research on your topic.  For this current research, you should consider using the print and/or electronic indexes to find journal articles or conference papers discussing your topic.  You may need to consult more than one index and more than one format to obtain a comprehensive working bibliography.  Databases permit more comprehensive searching for citations.  Searching is faster and more precise if you take advantage of Boolean logic and controlled vocabulary.  Keyword searching should be used for "new" research topics.  Once an "excellent" article is discovered, scan the subject headings and search again using those terms.  Online help is available for learning advanced searching techniques.

Print Indexes:

Access is gained to citations through author, subject, or keyword-in context (KWIC) indexes in annual cumulations.  Some indexes have controlled vocabulary described in accompanying thesauri while some indexes use unique classification codes or schemes.  Journal title abbreviations are explained at the front and/or back of the Index.

ACM Guide to Computing Literature.  A&T REF  Indexes  QA 75.5.A75a

Annual index/abstracts of SAE technical papers.  A&T REF  Indexes TL1 .S473

Applied Science and Technology Index.  A&T REF  Indexes Z 7913.I7
ASCE annual combined index.  A&T REF  Indexes  TA145 .A47a

Business Periodicals Index.  A&T REF  Indexes Z7164.C81 B983

Computer and Information Systems Abstracts.  A&T REF  Indexes  QA 76.I46

Concrete Abstracts.  A&T REF Indexes  TP 874.C65

Ei/Engineering Index. (Paper equivalent of Ei Compendex®Web)  A&T REF  Indexes  TA 145.E45

ERA/Energy Research Abstracts.  A&T REF Indexes  TJ 163.2.E482

GRAI/Gov. Reports Announce. & Index. (Paper equivalent of NTIS)  A&T REF Indexes  T 45.G78

Health and Safety Science Abstracts.  A&T REF  Indexes  HD7260 .S339

Human resources abstracts.  A&T REF  Indexes  HD4802 .H85

Index of patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.  A&T REF  Indexes  T 223 .D3

Index to IEEE Publications. (Paper Equivalent of IEEE Xplore)  A&T REF  Indexes  TK 145.I54

International Aerospace Abstracts.  A&T REF  Indexes  TL 500.I57

Science Abstracts.  Series A.  Physics Abstracts.  A&T REF  Indexes  Q 1.S3

Solid State/Superconductivity Abstracts.  A&T REF  Indexes  TK 7800.S6

Scientific and technical aerospace reports.  A&T REF  Indexes  TL500 .S35

Electronic Indexes:

Allow more comprehensive searching for citations.  Searching is faster and more precise if you take advantage of Boolean logic and controlled vocabulary.  Keyword searching should be used for "new" research topics.  On-line help is available for learning advanced searching techniques.

CD-ROM Products:

The CD-ROMS are located in F. D. Bluford Library.  You cannot access the CD-ROMs through a modem from home.  If you want to search from outside F. D. Bluford Library, consider using NC LIVE and other databases available through INNOPAC or the Library's Web Page. http://www.library.ncat.edu/

The CD-ROMs are available on Stand-Alone workstations.  Each research workstation is numbered.  You must reserve time on a workstation by signing the clip-board at the Reference Desk.  Workstations may be reserved for non-consecutive, 30 minute intervals.  Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

Bibliographic and Full-Text Products:

Bibliographic resources contain bibliographic citations and abstracts of specific articles, documents, reports, papers or proceedings.  INNOPAC must be consulted for library holdings.  Interlibrary loan is available to graduate students and faculty for items not owned.

Full-text resources contain the bibliographic citations AND the entire text of specified articles, documents, reports, papers or proceedings.  INNOPAC need not be consulted for library holdings.  Most databases offer the option of downloading, printing, or e-mailing citations and/or articles.  Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.

 

ABI/Inform Global.  [Online Database]
Academic Search Full Text Elite.  [Online Database]
Academic Universe.  [Online Database]
AccessScience @ McGraw Hill, The Online Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.  [Online Database]
ACI's Manual of Concrete Practice  (Encyclopedia of Concrete Technology).  [CD-ROM Database]
ACM Digital Library.  [Online Database]
Advanced Polymers Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Aerospace Database.  [Online Database]
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access).  [Online Database]
Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Aluminium Industry Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Applied Science & Technology Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Architectural Graphics Standards.  [CD-ROM Database]
ASCE Publications Civil Engineering Database (CEDB).  [Online Database]
ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles on CD-ROM.  [CD-ROM Database]
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.  [Online Database]
Basic BIOSIS.  [Online Database]
Bioengineering Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Business Source Elite.  [Online Database]
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Ceramic Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Civil Engineering Database (ASCE Publications).  [Online Database]
Compendex®Web.  [Online Database]
Composites Industry Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Conference Papers Index.  [Online Database]
Cooper's Toxic Exposures Desk Reference.  [CD-ROM Database]
Corrosion Abstracts.  [Online Database]
CRISP: Biomedical Research Information.  [Online Database]
Dissertation Abstracts Online.  [Online Database]
E Source technology atlas series.  [CD-ROM Database]
Ei Compendex®Web.  [Online Database]
EIS:  Digests of Environmental Impact Statements.  [Online Database]
Electronics & Communications Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Emerald Library.  [Online Database]
Engineered Materials Abstracts.  [Online Database]  ENGnetBASE.  [Online Database]

Environmental Engineering Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management.  [Online Database]

GPO.  [Online Database]
GrayLIT Network.  [Online Database]
Health and Safety Science Abstracts.  [Online Database]
IDEAL (International Digital Electronic Access Library).  [Online Database]
IEEE Xplore.  [Online Database]
ILI Infobase.  [Online Database]
Info Trac Expanded Academic ASAP.  [Online Database]
Info Trac General Reference Center Gold.  [Online Database]
Info Trac Onefile.  [Online Database]
Info Trac Professional Custom Journals.  [Online Database]
Ingenta (formerly UNCOVER).  [Online Database]
Intellectual Property Network.  [Online Database]
International ISO 9000 Database.  [Online Database]
Internet & Personal Computing Abstracts.  [Online Database]
ISO 9000 Registered Company Directory, United States.  [CD-ROM Database]
JSTOR.  [Online Database]
Materials Business File.  [Online Database]
MathSciNet: Mathmatical Reviews on the Web.  [Online Database]
Mechanical Engineering Abstracts.  [Online Database]
National Transportation Library.  [Online Database]
netLibrary (eBooks).  [Online Database]
NTIS.  [Online Database]
Pollution Abstracts.  [Online Database]
PsycINFO. [Online Database]
SAE Publications and Standards.  [Online Database]
SAE Technical Papers.  [CD-ROM Database]
Safety Science & Risk Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Science Citation Index Expanded.  [Online Database]
Science Direct.  [Online Database]
Standard Handbook for Architectural Engineering.  [CD-ROM Database]
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater - 20th Edition.  [CD-ROM Database]
Statistical Universe.  [Online Database]
Thomas Register.  [CD-ROM Database]
TOXLINE.  [Online Database]
TRIS Online.  [Online Database]
Water Resources Abstracts.  [Online Database]
Web of Science.  [Online Database]
WorldCat.  [Online Database]

 


Journals:

The following summary list of journals can be located on the lower level of the library.  Current issues are near the service desk, bound volumes are shelved by a call number, and microfilm reels are in cabinets near the reader/printers.  INNOPAC contains not only the holdings for each journal but also the specific format for a specific year and/or volume.

 

Academy of Management journal. 
ACI materials journal.
ACI structural journal.
ACM transactions on modeling and computer simulation.
Acta mechanica.
Acta metallurgica.
Advances in water resources.
AI expert.
AIChE journal.
Air transport world.
Ajfocus.
Ambio.
Analytical chemistry.
Annual review of energy and the environment / AR.
APICS, the performance advantage.
Applied catalysis. B, Environmental.
Applied ergonomics.
Applied optics.
Applied physics. A, Materials science & processing.
Applied physics. B, Lasers and optics.
Applied physics letters.
Architectural design : A.D.
Architectural record.
Architecture : the AIA journal.
Artificial intelligence.
ASCE publications information.
ASHRAE journal.
AT&T technical journal.
Biochemistry.
Biotechnology letters.
Biotechnology progress.
Building design & construction.
California management review.
The Canadian journal of chemical engineering.
Canadian journal of civil engineering. Revue canadienne de genie civil.
CEE. Chemical engineering education.
Chemical and engineering news.
Chemical engineering communications.
The Chemical engineering journal and the biochemical engineering  journal.
Chemical engineering progress.
Chemical engineering science.
Circuits, systems, and signal processing : CSSP.
Civil engineering.
Combustion and flame.
Composites engineering.
Composites. Parts A-B.
Computer.
Computer aided design.
Computer-aided engineering : CAE.
Computer communication review.
Computer design.
Computer methods in applied mechanics and engineering.
Computers & chemical engineering.
Computers & industrial engineering.
Computers & structures.
Computers and geotechnics.
Concrete.
Concrete international. Design & construction.
Construction equipment.
Control engineering.
Current literature in traffic and transportation.
Datamation.
Design news.
Design quarterly.
EDN.
Electrical communication.
Electronics letters.
Electronics world + wireless world.
Energy & fuels : an American Chemical Society journal.
Energy and technology review.
Energy engineering : journal of the Association of Energy Engineers.
Engineer update.
Engineering design & automation.
The Engineering economist.
Engineering journal.
Engineering with computers.
ENR.
Environment.
Environmental engineering science.
Environmental ethics.
Environmental modelling & software : with environment data news.
Environmental science & technology.
EPRI journal.
Ergonomics.
Experimental mechanics.
Experimental thermal and fluid science : ETF science.
Federal Highway Administration register
Fluid phase equilibria.
Geotechnique.
Handling & shipping management.
Human factors and ergonomics in manufacturing.
Human resource management.
Human-computer interaction.
HVAC&R research : international journal of heating, ventilating, air-conditioning, and refrigerating research.
IEE proceedings.
IEEE robotics & automation magazine.
IEEE transactions on energy conversion.
IEEE transactions on engineering management.
IEEE transactions on pattern analysis and machine intelligence.
IEEE transactions on reliability.
IEEE transactions on robotics and automation.
IEEE/ASME transactions on mechatronics.
IEQ strategies.
IIE solutions.
IIE transactions.
Industrial & engineering chemistry research.
Industrial engineering.
The Industrial robot.
Interfaces.
International journal of chemical kinetics.
International journal of control.
International journal of electronics.
International journal of fracture.
International journal of human-computer interaction.
International journal of human-computer studies.
International journal of industrial ergonomics.
International journal of intelligent systems.
International journal of non-linear mechanics.
International journal of plasticity.
International journal of production economics.
International journal of production research.
The international journal of quality science.
The International journal of robotics research.
International journal of solids and structures.
International journal of wireless information networks.
ITE journal.
ITS quarterly.
The Japan architect.
Journal of advanced materials.
Journal of advanced transportation.
Journal of agricultural and food chemistry.
Journal of applied biomechanics.
Journal of applied mechanics.
Journal of architectural education : JAE.
Journal of architectural engineering.
Journal of automated reasoning.
Journal of biomechanical engineering.
Journal of biomechanics.
Journal of bridge engineering.
Journal of chemical and engineering data.
Journal of chemical engineering of Japan.
Journal of chemical information and computer sciences.
The Journal of chemical physics.
Journal of chemical technology and biotechnology.
The Journal of chemical thermodynamics.

Journal of cold regions engineering.
Journal of composite materials.
Journal of composites for construction.
The Journal of computer information systems.
Journal of computing in civil engineering.
Journal of construction engineering and management.  Journal of design and manufacturing.
Journal of dynamic systems, measurement, and control.
Journal of electronic materials.
Journal of energy engineering.
Journal of energy resources technology.
Journal of engineering materials and technology.
Journal of engineering mechanics.
The Journal of environmental education.
Journal of environmental engineering.
Journal of environmental quality.
Journal of fluid mechanics.
Journal of geotechnical and geoenvironmental engineering.
Journal of geotechnical engineering.
Journal of heat transfer.
Journal of hydraulic engineering.
Journal of hydrologic engineering.
Journal of industrial engineering design.
Journal of infrastructure systems.
Journal of intelligent & robotic systems.
Journal of intelligent manufacturing.
Journal of intelligent material systems and structures.
Journal of irrigation and drainage engineering.
Journal of management in engineering.
Journal of manufacturing systems.
Journal of materials in civil engineering.
Journal of materials processing technology.
Journal of materials research.
Journal of mechanical design.
Journal of operations management.
Journal of parallel and distributed computing.
Journal of performance of constructed facilities.
Journal of pressure vessel technology.
Journal of professional issues in engineering education and practice.
Journal of quality technology.
Journal of reinforced plastics and composites.
Journal of robotic systems.
Journal of soil contamination.
Journal of solar energy engineering.
Journal of structural engineering.
Journal of surveying engineering.
Journal of systems management.
Journal of technical writing and communication.
Journal of testing and evaluation.
Journal of the American Chemical Society.
Journal of the Indian Chemical Society.
Journal of the science of food and agriculture.
Journal of the Transportation Research Forum.
Journal of transportation engineering.
Journal of tribology.
Journal of urban planning and development.
Journal of vibration and acoustics.
Journal of water resources planning and management.
Journal of waterway, port, coastal, and ocean engineering.
L'Architecture d'aujourd'hui.
Legal research digest.
The Logistics and transportation review.
Machine design.
Manufacturing engineering.
Material handling engineering.
Materials at high temperatures.
Materials science & engineering. Part A.
Materials science & engineering. Part B.
Materials science & engineering. Part C.
Mathematics of control, signals, and systems : MCSS.
Mechanical engineering : the journal of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Mechanics of structures and machines.
Mechatronics : mechanics, electronics, control.
Mobile computing & communications.
Mobile networks and applications : MONET.
Modern materials handling.
Modern steel construction.
Monthly energy review.
Neurocomputing.
Occupational health & safety.
Operations research.
Optics and spectroscopy.
Optics communications.
Optics letters.
OR; the journal of the Operational Research Society.
Passenger transport.
Power engineering.
Practice periodical of hazardous, toxic, and radioactive waste management.
Practice periodical on structural design and construction.
Proceedings of the IEEE.
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Civil engineering.
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Geotechnical engineering.
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Municipal engineer.
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Structures and buildings.
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Transport.
Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. Water, maritime and energy.
Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers. Parts A-J.
Process safety progress : a publication of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers.
Production.
Production and inventory management journal.
Professional safety.
Progressive architecture.
Quality control and applied statistics.
Quality world : for the quality professional.
The Rand journal of economics.
Remediation : the journal of environmental cleanup costs, technologies & techniques.
Report (Transit Cooperative Research Program).
Research & development.
Research results digest (Transit Cooperative Research Program).
Rivista internazionale di economia dei trasporti.
Robotica.
Robotics and computer-integrated manufacturing.
Robotics today.
S.A.E. transactions.
Satellite communications.
SIGART bulletin.
Signal processing. Image communication.
Simulation digest.
Simulation.
Smart materials & structures.
Solar energy.
The structural engineer.
Sunworld.
Systems & control letters.
TCRP synthesis.
Technometrics.
TR news.
Transactions of the American Society of Civil Engineers.
Transportation.
Transportation journal.
Transportation planning and technology.
Transportation quarterly.
Transportation research circular.
Transportation research record.
Transportation research. Parts A-E.
Transportation science.
Urban design.
Water resources bulletin.
Water resources research.
Wireless networks.

 


Technical Reports:

Technical Reports are a form of "Grey Literature." They are not intended to be part of the permanent literature.  Those who prepare technical reports must report the results of research sponsored by the government. These cannot be classified as government documents because they are not produced directly by a government agency, but by individuals in the agency or laboratory.  They can also be a separate type of publication, like ERIC or NASA documents.  Technical reports are indexed by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).  The following print publications, databases, and Internet sites index technical reports:

DOE Information Bridge.  http://www.osti.gov/bridge/
Energy Citations Database (1948 – Present).  http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/
ERA/Energy Research Abstracts.  A&T REF Indexes  TJ 163.2.E482
GRAI/Gov. Reports Announce. & Index. (Paper equivalent of NTIS)  A&T REF Indexes  T 45.G78
GrayLIT Network.  [Online Database]  http://www.osti.gov/graylit/
Information sources in grey literature.   3rd ed.  A&T REF  T10.7 .A87 1994
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS).  http://techreports.larc.nasa.gov/cgi-bin/NTRS
NTIS (National Technical Information Service) Bibliographic Database .  [Online Database]
Scientific and technical aerospace reports.  A&T REF  Indexes  TL500 .S35

Standards and Specifications:

Standards are rules, techniques, and/or conditions which must be followed for industrial practices, engineering design, terminology, etc.  These may be voluntary or imposed by a country or international organization.  Standards ensure cooperation and communication among researchers and engineers.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI).  http://www.ansi.org
Architectural Graphics Standards.  [CD-ROM Database]
IEEE Xplore.  [Online Database]  http://www.ieee.org/ieeexplore
ILI Infobase.  [Online Database]  http://www.ili-info.com
International Organization for Standardization (ISO).  http://www.iso.ch/
National aerospace standards.  A&T REF TL671.1 .N37
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).  http://www.nist.gov/
National Standards Systems Network (NSSN).  http://www.nssn.org/
SAE Publications and Standards.  [Online Database]
The specifications writer's book of checklists and forms.  A&T REF TH425 .S53 1985
Writing engineering specifications.  A&T REF K891.B8 H37 1988

Patents:

Patents are contracts between governments and inventors.  They are only honored in the country in which they are issued.  Knowledge of existing or pending patents can save a researcher time, effort, and/or legal trouble.  North Carolina State University has the closest Patent Depository Library.  Both the IBM and U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Internet sites offer the full text of over two million patents dating back to 1976.  Interlibrary Loan can obtain any patent.

lexisNexis Academic Universe.  [Online Database]  http://web.lexis-nexis.com/universe
Index of patents issued from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.  A&T REF T223 .D3
Index to the U.S. patent classification system.  A&T REF C 21.12/2: 992
Information sources in patents.  A&T REF T210 .I53 1992
Intellectual Property Network.  [Online Database]  http://www.delphion.com/
United States Patent and Trademark Office.  [Online Database] http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html
The U.S. Patent Citation Database.  http://patents.cos.com/
USAPAT:  Facsimile images of U.S. Patents. [CD-ROM Database]  A&T REF C 21.31: US- (July 1996- )
World Intellectual Property Organization Intellectual Property Digital Library.  http://pctgazette.wipo.int/


Internet Resources:

Engineering Departments at NCA&TSU and other Universities:

North Carolina A&T State University College of Engineering.  http://www.eng.ncat.edu/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Bioenvironmental Engineering. http://trace.ncat.edu/abe/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Architectural Engineering.  http://www.ncat.edu/~aren/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Chemical Engineering.  http://www.ncat.edu/~chemeng/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Civil Engineering.  http://www.ncat.edu/~civileng/
North Carolina A&T State University Computer Sciences Departmenthttp://www.comp.ncat.edu/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Electrical Engineering.  http://eceserver.ncat.edu/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering. http://www.ncat.edu/~iedept/
North Carolina A&T State University Department of Mechanical Engineering.  http://www.ncat.edu/~meen/
NCSU Department of Chemical Engineering.  http://www.che.ncsu.edu/
NCSU Department of Civil Engineering.  http://www.ce.ncsu.edu/
NCSU Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.  http://www.ece.ncsu.edu/
NCSU Department of Industrial Engineering.  http://www.ie.ncsu.edu/
NCSU Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.  http://www.mae.ncsu.edu/

Professional Societies:

Acoustical Society of America (ASA).   http://asa.aip.org/
American Academy of Environmental Engineers (AAEE).  http://www.enviro-engrs.org/
American Concrete Institute (ACI International).  http://www.aci-int.org/
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).  http://www.aiaa.org/
American Institute of Architects (AIA).  http://www.aia.org/
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).  http://www.aiche.org/

American Production and Inventory Control Society.  http://www.apics.org/
American Society for Civil Engineers (ASCE).  http://www.asce.org/
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).  http://www.asee.org/
American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT).  http://www.asnt.org/
American Society for Quality (ASQ).  http://www.asq.org/
American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM).  http://www.astm.org/
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE).  http://www.ashrae.org/
American Society of Mechanical Engineers International (ASME).  http://www.asme.org/

American Society of Naval Engineers.  http://www.navalengineers.org/
ASM International - The Metals and Materials Information Society.  http://www.asm-intl.org/
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).  http://www.acm.org/

Association for Manufacturing Technology (AMT).  http://www.mfgtech.org/
Civil Engineering Research Foundation (CERF).  http://www.cerf.org/indexjs.htm
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).  http://www.ieee.org/
Institute of Industrial Engineers (IIE).  http://www.iienet.org/
The Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE)  http://www.iee.org/
Materials Research Society (MRS). http://dns.mrs.org/

National Academy of Engineering.  http://www.nae.edu/
National Society of Black Engineers.  http://www.nsbe.org  

National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE).  http://www.nspe.org/
Optical Society of America (OSA). http://www.osa.org/
Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE). http://www.sae.org/
Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME).  http://www.sme.org/

Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE).  http://www.4spe.org/

Society of Women Engineers (SWE).  http://www.societyofwomenengineers.org/

Libraries and Other Research Internet Sites:

Alliance for Innovative Manufacturing http://www.stanford.edu/group/AIM/

Australasian Virtual Engineering Library http://avel.library.uq.edu.au/

Community of Science. http://www.cos.com/
Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library. http://eevl.icbl.hw.ac.uk/
Ei Village.  http://www.engineeringvillage2.org/

Electrochemical Science and Technology Information Resource (ESTIR).  http://electrochem.cwru.edu/estir/
Electronics Manufacturing Guide via Circuit World.  http://www.circuitworld.com/
Engineering Electronic Library, Sweden (EELS).  http://eels.lub.lu.se/
ErgoWeb.  http://www.ergoweb.com/
Galaxy - Engineering and Technology.   http://www.einet.net/galaxy/Engineering-and-Technology.html
HotList - Internet Thermal Engineering Resource.  http://stecwww.fpms.ac.be/htmls/HotList/
How Stuff Works.  http://www.howstuffworks.com/
HVACR RESOURCES  http://www.worldchat.com/commercial/hvacr/index1.htm
Indoorclimate  http://www.indoorclimate.com/
Integrated CAD Research Information System (ICARIS)  http://itc.fgg.uni-lj.si/ICARIS/
INFOMINE: Scholarly Internet Resource Collections  http://infomine.ucr.edu/
Internet Aerospace Links.  http://www.galcit.caltech.edu/~padam/htmls/AeroLinks.html
Internet Connections for Engineering. http://www.englib.cornell.edu/ice/ice-index.html
Internet Scout Project  http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/index.html
NASA Homepage.  http://www.nasa.gov/NASA_homepage.html/
National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering (NISEE)  http://www.eerc.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin/texhtml-form=eea
National Space Society http://www.nss.org/

NIST's Manufacturing Engineering Laboratory. http://www.mel.nist.gov/
Physics-Astronomy-Mathematics Division  of the SLA.  http://pantheon.yale.edu/~dstern/pamtop.html
Planetary Data System - Imaging Node. http://www-pdsimage.jpl.nasa.gov/PDS/
PolyLinks' Web Site  http://www.polymers.com/dotcom/polylink/
Recent Advances in Manufacturing DB. http://www.eevl.ac.uk/ram/index.html
Univ. of Waterloo's Scholarly Societies Project  http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/society/overview.html
World Wide Web Virtual Library-Engineering http://arioch.gsfc.nasa.gov/wwwvl/engineering.html
WWW Virtual Library:Chemical Engineering http://www.che.ufl.edu/WWW-CHE/


[ Guides Index | Reference Homepage | Library Homepage ]


This page is created and maintained by John C. Teleha, Reference Librarian
Created September 14, 2000.  Last updated September 4, 2003
Copyright © 2000-2001 by North Carolina A&T State University