
Scope: The
following pathfinder is a selective bibliography designed to guide the student
in finding information on the different aspects of exercise physiology.
1. Library
of Congress Classification
The F. D. Bluford Library
uses the Library of Congress Classification System to arrange materials on the
library shelves. Resources on exercise physiology can be found in the Reference
Area and the stacks area under the classification listed below:
|
GV |
1-1860 |
Recreation and Leisure |
|
|
201-555 561-1198 |
Physical Education and Training Sports |
QP
|
1-981 |
Physiology |
|
|
34+ 301 |
Human Physiology Musculoskeletal System |
RC
|
31-1245 |
Internal Medicine |
|
|
1210-1245 |
Sports Medicine/Physiology |
|
RM |
1-931 |
Therapeutics |
|
|
719-733 |
Mechanotherapy (Exercise) |
2. Subject
Headings
The Library of Congress
Subject Headings are used to locate materials in the F. D. Bluford Library’s
online catalog by subject. Below is a
selected list of subject headings:
Exercise
Physiological Aspects
Physical Education and Training
3. Reference
Books – A Selected List
Reference books are
located on the first floor beyond the Reference desk. If you need assistance,
please ask one of the Reference Librarians.
Dictionary of the Sport and Exercise
Sciences.
A&T REF GV558 .D53 1991
Fitness and Exercise Sourcebook.
A&T REF GV436 .F53 1996
Physical Education Handbook.
A&T REF GV361 .P49 1997
Publication Manual of the American Psychological
Association. 4th. Ed. A&T REF BF76.7 .P83 1994
Harbrace College Handbook.
A&T REF PE1112 .H6 1998
The Little, Brown Handbook.
A&T READY REF PE1112 .F64 2000
Writing Literature Reviews: A Guide for Students of the Social and Behavioral Sciences.
A&T REF H61.8 .G3 1999
4. Books – A Selected List
Circulating
books are located in different sections of the library. Please consult the
directory by the elevator or ask for assistance.
Advanced Fitness Assessment & Exercise
Prescription.
A&T STACKS GV436
.H48 1998
Advances in Body Composition Assessment.
A&T STACKS QP88
.L65 1992
Biochemistry Primer for Exercise Science.
A&T STACKS
QP514.2 .H68 1995
Biomechanics and Exercise Physiology.
A&T STACKS QP301
.J57 1991
Essentials of Exercise Physiology.
A&T STACKS QP301 .M1149 1994
Ethical Decision Making in Physical Activity
Research.
A&T STACKS RC1235 .D76 1996
Exercise and Circulation in Health and Disease.
A&T STACKS QP301 .E9346 2000
Exercise in Rehabilitation Medicine.
A&T STACKS RM725 .E926 1999
Fitness Leader's Handbook.
A&T STACKS GV481 .F727 1998
The Health Fitness Handbook [computer file].
A&T STACKS RA781 .F675 1999
The History of Exercise and Sport Science.
A&T STACKS GV223 .H57 1997
Mechanics of Sport: A Practitioner's Guide.
A&T STACKS QP303 .C375 1997
Nutrition in Exercise and Sport.
A&T STACKS TX361.A8 N88 1998
Physical Activity and Obesity.
A&T STACKS RC628
.P496 2000
Physiology of Sport and Exercise.
A&T STACKS QP301 .W6749 1999
Understanding Psychological Preparation for Sport
[computer file]: Theory and Practice of Elite Performers.
A&T STACKS GV341 .T73 1996
5. Periodicals
Listed below are
periodicals related to exercise physiology.
In order to find out what years and/or formats the F. D. Bluford Library
owns, please check the Library’s catalog.
Adapted Physical Activity Quarterly: APAQ
American Journal of Physiology
The American Journal of Sports Medicine
Annual Review of Physiology
Experimental Biology and Medicine
Gait & Posture (Online)
Journal of Applied Physiology
Journal of Health Education
Journal of Physical Education, Recreation &
Dance
The Journal of Physiology
Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology
Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical Fitness
Preventive Medicine (Online)
The Physical Educator
Physical Therapy (Online)
Physical Therapy in Sport (Online)
Physiological Reviews
Physiology & Behavior (Online)
Proceedings of the Society for Experimental Biology
and Medicine
Quest
Research Quarterly for Exercise And Sport
6. Electronic Indexes
Electronic databases are accessible through the library’s web page. Here is a listing of databases to begin with:
Academic Search FullText Elite
(via EBSCOhost on NCLIVE)
Academic Universe (via Lexis-Nexis)
Look
under the Medicine heading for three databases that cover sports
medicine.
Biotechnology and
Bioengineering Abstracts
(via Cambridge Scientific
Abstracts)
Health Source:
Nursing Academic Edition
(via EBSCOhost on NCLIVE)
IDEAL (via Academic Pres, et al)
InfoTrac Onefile (via Gale Info Trac on NCLIVE)
MasterFILE Premier (via EBSCOhost on NCLIVE)
PsycINFO (via SilverPlatter)
PubMed (MEDLINE) (via National Library of
Medicine)
ScienceDirect (via Elsevier)
Web of Science
7. Organizations
Below is a web list of organizations associated with exercise physiology:
American Academy of Physical Medicine and
Rehabilitation
American College of Sports Medicine
American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine
American Council on Exercise (ACE)
American
Kinesiotherapy Association
Medical Fitness Association
National Association for
Health and Fitness
http://www.physicalfitness.org/
8. Internet Sites
Use the Internet sites listed below to supplement the other materials.
APA Style Homepage http://www.apastyle.org
Department of Health & Exercise Science, Wake
Forest University
http://www.wfu.edu/Academic-departments/Health-and-Exercise-Science/
Diet and Body http://www.dietandbody.com/
How Stuff Works http://www.howstuffworks.com/
http://www.howstuffworks.com/sports-physiology.htm
IDEAfit.com:
The Source for Fitness Professionals and Enthusiasts http://www.ideafit.com/
Internet Scout Project http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/
Prepared by John C. Teleha,
Reference Librarian – January 11, 2002
Updated March 13, 2002