A SELECTIVE GUIDE TO MATERIALS AND RESOURCES FOR HISTORY

 

This selective guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist the students with historical research. It outlines a general approach to finding materials and resources housed in the F.D. Bluford Library and also electronic sources that may be on the Internet or on CD-ROM.   This guide will help students organize their research and at the same time give them some tips on research strategy. Remember that researching any topic can seem overwhelming.

 

Using the INNOPAC

 

Establishing what resources the library owns on the subject you are researching should be your first priority.  In order to find that information the student must use the online catalog called  INNOPAC in our library. The INNOPAC can be searched by AUTHOR, TITLE, KEYWORD, JOURNAL TITLE and by SUBJECT HEADING.  If you are going to do a keyword search you can either enter a word that may appear in the title  or  in the description of the work.  If you are going to do a subject search you should use the Library of Congress Subject Headings located next to the computer workstations to help you determine the correct heading to use.  There are several other options on narrowing or limiting your search and on identifying similar titles.  Please refer to the INNOPAC Handout at the Information Center for more detailed instruction or ask for assistance from a Reference Librarian. 

 

Encyclopedias

 

Encyclopedias are also a good place to start, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic.  Articles in encyclopedias are often written by recognized authorities and tend to provide established facts and ideas about the topic, its history, basic theories, and important persons who have written related articles.  Also, most encyclopedia articles close with a bibliography that may help you to establish your literature search.

 

Note:  When using encyclopedias, first consult the index volume, usually the last volume of the set.  This will tell you if your topic has an article devoted entirely to it or if it is discussed within an article on a related subject.


 

Afro~American Encyclopedia or The Thoughts , Doings, and Sayings of the Race - A&T Ref E185.96 H34

Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - A&T Ref E185.E54

Encyclopedia of American Political History – A&T Ref E183.E5

Encyclopedia of Black America - A&T  Ref E185.E55

Encyclopedia of Philosophy - A&T Ref B41.E5

Encyclopedia of Southern Culture - A&T Ref F209.E53

Encyclopedia of World Biography - A&T Ref CT 103.M27

Encyclopedia of World Cultures - A&T Ref GN307.E53

Facts on File Encyclopedia of the 20th Century - A&T Ref D419.F33

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups - A&T Ref E184.A1H35

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World - A&T Ref DS 35.53 O95

Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian - A&T Ref E76.2 R4

Twentieth-Century Britain: An Encyclopedia - A&T Ref DA566.T835

 

Almanacs, Handbooks and Dictionaries

 


Almanacs are useful statistical and factual sources that have current information on a broad range of topics and subjects. Handbooks and dictionaries can help you throughout your research by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas.   Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in history.

 

African-American Almanac - A&T Ref E185.A47

Almanac of Famous People - A&T Ref CT104.B56

American Historical Images on File: The Black Experience - A&T Ready Ref E185.B573

Black Abolitionist Papers - A&T Ref E449. B625

Black Africa: A Comparative Handbook - A&T Ref DT352.8.B56

Black Saga: The African American Experience - A&T Ref E185.C519

Cambridge History of Latin America - A&T Ref F1410.C1834

Civilization of the Ancient Near East - A&T Ref DS557.C55

Concise Dictionary of National Biography - A&T Ref DA28.D56

Chronology of the Expanding World: 1492 to 1762 - A&T Ref D209.W59

Chronology of the Modern World: 1763 to 1992 - A&T Ref D209.W59

Dictionary of American Biography - A&T Ref E176.D563

Dictionary of American Negro Biography - A&T Ready Ref E185.96D53

Dictionary of American History - A&T Ref E174.D52

Dictionary of First Names - A&T Ref CS2369.H32

Great Debates in American History - A&T Ref E173.M64

Great Lives From History: American Series - A&T Ref CT214.G74

Great Lives From History: Ancient and Medieval Series - A&T Ref CT113.G74

Great Lives From History: Renaissance to 1900 Series - A&T Ref CT104.G68

Great Lives From History: Twentieth Century Series - A&T Ref CT120.G69

Great Negroes Past and Present - A&T Ref E185.96A4

Historical and Cultural Atlas of African Americans - A&T Ref E185.A8

Historical Dictionary of the Progressive Era, 1890-1920 - A&T Ref E661.H6

Keesing's Contemporary Archives: Record of World Events - A&T Ref D410.K4

Microbook Library of American Civilization - Ref Z1236.L45

Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. - A&T Ready Ref E185.97 K5A2

Who Was Who In America - A&T Ref E176. W6.4

 

Indexes and Abstracts (Printed)

 

To locate articles that are pertinent to your research, you need to use indexes and abstracts to journal and newspaper literature.

 


America: History and Life - A&T Abstracts Ref Z1236.A48

Biography and Genealogy Master Index - A&T Ref CT214.B4995

Historic Documents - A&T Ref Indexes E839.H57

Historical Abstracts - A&T Abstracts Ref D299.H5

New York Times Index - A&T Indexes Ref AI21.N44

Poole's Index To Periodical Literature - A&T Indexes Ref AI 2.P7

Reader's Guide To Periodical Literature - A&T Indexes Ref AI 3.R4

Social Sciences Index - A&T Indexes Ref AI3.S62

What They Said In..., The Yearbook of World Opinion - A&T Ref Indexes D410.W46

 

Electronic Resources (CD-ROMS, Full-Text Databases & Bibliographic Databases

 

·       CD-ROMS

American Journey - Electronic database on CD-ROM that contains a collection of primary

source documents and pictures.

Black Studies On Disc - Provides electronic access to over 108,000 records from the cumulative catalog of the Schomburg Center, the research unit that focuses on black history and culture.

Famous American Speeches: A Multimedia History - 1850 to the Present - Located at the Reference Desk this CD-ROM database contains famous or noteworthy American speeches.

George Washington Carver - This CD-ROM product is located at the Reference Desk and contains the papers, notes and letters of Dr. Carver.

Landmark Documents In American History (Full-Text) - An electronic database on CD-ROM, can be checked out at the Reference Desk, contains over 1,200 key documents on American History.    Each document has an introductory essay placing it in historical context.

U.S. History on CD-ROM (Full-Text) - An electronic database on CD-ROM that must be checked out from  the Reference Desk.  This CD-ROM database contains over 107 books and over 1,000 pictures, illustrations and tables.

 

·       FULLTEXT

 

Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost - Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present.

            Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals, including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis) – Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical and reference information.

InfoTrac Expanded Academic ASAP via Gale

Coverage is available through 2,600 indexed and 1,400 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, The New York Times and many others. More than 1,400 journals are refereed, and 20 years of backfile coverage are included.

History Universe - African American Studies

Wide range of sources include over 1,100 reference articles on key subjects, individuals, and organizations from the colonial era through late 20th Century. Select anthology includes hundreds of essential scholarly articles in full-text, as well as government and private manuscripts exploring civil rights, NAACP’s legal campaign against segregation and racism, late 19th and early 20th Century peonage cases in the South, and much more. Hundreds of images of African Americans from the 18th through 20th Centuries, seminal autobiographies of African Americans, and public speeches by prominent African Americans are included.

JSTOR  - Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost - Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from more than 1500 periodicals from 1990 to present

Statistical Universe -  Indexes statistical data produced by the U.S. government, by important international intergovernmental organizations, and by knowledgeable professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Includes indexing for the American Statistics Index (1973- ), the Statistical Reference Index (1980- ) and the Index to International Statistics (1983- ).  Coverage: Updated regularly.

 

·       BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

 

ArticleFirst via OCLC FirstSearch -  Index of articles from nearly 12,500 journals in a variety of  disciplines from January 1990 to present.

Social Sciences Citation Index From the Web of Science website  - Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Covers 1400 journals spanning 50 disciplines. Has searchable author abstracts. Can view article bibliographies and search cited references and authors.   Coverage: 1992- . Updated monthly.

WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch -  Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide.

 

 

JOURNALS (Printed)

 

Abacus

African American Review                         

Africa South in Exile                           

Afro‑Americans in New York Life and History     

Agricultural History                             

American Heritage 

American Historical Review                             

American History

American History Illustrated   

Carolina Comments                               

Church History

Civilization                  

Civil War Times Illustrated                     

Comparative Studies in Society and History

Current History

The Historian; a Journal of History

Historical Journal

History

History And Social Science Teacher

History and Technology

History and Theory

The History Teacher

History Today

The International Journal of African Historical Studies

International Review of Social History

Journal of African History

Journal of Contemporary History

Journal of American History

Journal of Interdisciplinary History

Journal of Negro History

Journal of Social History

Journal of Southern History

Journal of the Historical Society of Nigeria

Journal of the History of Ideas

Journal of World History

Magazine of History

Mid-America; an Historical Review

North Carolina Historical Review

Past & Present

 

 

ONLINE

 

 Air Power History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1996-present

American History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1994-present

American History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1994-present

American History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: May 1, 1997-present

American History  from Primary Search (Children's Magazines) via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1994-present

American History Illustrated  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1992-May 31, 199

American History Illustrated  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1992-May 31, 1994

American Legacy: Celebrating African-American History & Culture  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1998-present

Canadian Journal of History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: April 1, 1990-present

Canadian Journal of History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: April 1, 1990-present

Canadian Journal of History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: April 1, 1995-present

Central European History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1996-present

Chinese America, History & Perspectives  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Chinese America, History & Perspectives  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Christian History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Christian History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Church History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1998-present

Church History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1998-present

Church History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: March 1, 1994-present

Civil War History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: September 1, 1997-present

Complete Idiot's Guide to American History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1998-present

Essential Documents in American History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Essential Documents in American History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Essential Documents in American History  from Primary Search (Children's Magazines) via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Ethnohistory  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: April 1, 1997-present

European Review of History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: March 1, 1994-present

European Review of History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: March 1, 1994-present

European Review of History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: October 1, 1997-present

Historian; a Journal of History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1995-present

History & Theory from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

History & Theory from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

History of Political Economy  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

History of the Family  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1996-present

History of the Family  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1996-present

History Today  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

History Today  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

History Today  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1992-present

History: Review of New Books  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1996-present

History: Review of New Books  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1996-present

Journal of American Ethnic History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of American Ethnic History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of American Ethnic History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: October 1, 1997-present

Journal of American History, The  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: March 1, 1992-present

Journal of Contemporary History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: October 1, 1996-present

Journal of Family History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Family History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Family History  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1998-present

Journal of Interdisciplinary History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1998-present

Journal of Military History, The from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Journal of Modern History, The  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: September 1, 1998-present

Journal of Social History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Social History from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Social History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1995-present

Journal of the History of Philosophy from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: October 1, 1995-present

Journal of Urban History from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Urban History from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Urban History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: November 1, 1996-present

Journal of Women's History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1995-present

Journalism History from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journalism History from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journalism History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Labor History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: April 1, 1997-present

Manitoba History from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1999-present

Military History from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1996-present

Military History  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1996-present

Military History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: April 1, 1997-present

Natural History from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: May 1, 1990-present

Natural History from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: May 1, 1990-presen

Natural History from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1992-present

Natural History from Primary Search (Children's Magazines) via EBSCOhost

Coverage: May 1, 1990-present

Naval History from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1999-present

Oral History Review, The from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Virginia Magazine of History & Biography from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: March 1, 1997-present

Virginia Magazine of History & Biography  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: March 1, 1997-present

Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, The  from PA Research II via Bell & Howell ProQuest 

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

War in History  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1999-present

 

 

Government Documents

 


Government Documents cover a broad range of topics including criminal justice; laws and regulations; congressional hearings; Supreme Court opinions; and economic, demographic and agricultural statistics.  You can access our Government Documents Collection several ways:  through the Innopac Catalog using GPO Access; the printed Monthly Catalog housed in the Index Area; GPO on CD-ROM and using the Internet.  These items are classified by the Superintendent of  Documents Classification Scheme and must be retrieved using that call number.  The library's Government Documents Department is located on the lower level of the library.  On the first floor of the library is a workstation dedicated solely to accessing government documents using CD-ROMs or accessing governmental agencies through the Internet.

 

225 years of service : the U.S. Army, 1775-2000 - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     D 114.2:SE 6/3                

Arming the eagle : a history of U.S. weapons acquisition since 1775 - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     D 1.2:H 62/13    

Assessing the Soviet threat : the early Cold War years - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     PREX 3.17:AS 7                

The Constitution in the public imagination  - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    K12 9:C75

Forging progress for women [microform] : North Carolina Council for Women : a brief history of three decades of service, 1963-1993 - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    I21 2:N86

Here was the Revolution : historic sites of the war for American independence  - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    I 29.2:R32

Higher education and the United States Office of Education, 1867- 1953 - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    HE 19.102:H 53/867-953

Historic American roads : a collection of paintings - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     TD 2.30/12:00-002

Historical development of the North Carolina Textbook Commission and its current status [microform] - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    G3.5 2:H67

A History of cancer control in the United States, 1946-1971 - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    HE 20.3152:C 16

The history of education in North Carolina [microform] - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM G5 10:H67

History of the Star-Spangled Banner from 1814 to the present - A&T GSM NC MICROFORM    I 29.2:F77

Letters of delegates to Congress, 1774-1789 - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     LC 1.34:26/CUM.IND

Intentions and capabilities : estimates on Soviet strategic forces, 1950-1983 - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     PREX 3.17:IN 8

Records relating to personal participation in World War II :  military awards and decorations - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     AE 1.124:92

Urban transportation planning in the United States : an  historical overview - A&T GSM FED GOVDOCS     TD 1.20/10:97-24

 

Statistical Sources

 

Statistics provide a factual basis for your ideas.  Most of the handbooks and electronic resources listed will give some general statistics.  The following resources can provide information on very specific topics, either giving the actual data or listing citations to books, articles, or reports that will have the needed information.

 

American Statistics Index - Index Ref Z7554.U5A46

Statistical Abstract of the United States-A&T Ref HA202.A384 (Current edition  on Ready Reference)

Statistical Abstract of the World - A&T Ref HA154.S68 (Current edition on Ready Reference)

Statistical Handbook on Adolescents in America - A&T Ref HQ796.S8237

Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans - A&T Ref HQ1064.U5S738

Statistical Handbook on the American Family - A&T RefHQ536.S727

Statistical Handbook on Violence in America - A&T Ref HN90.V5S833

Statistical Handbook on Women in America - A&T Ref HQ1420.T34

Statistical Record of Women Worldwide - A&T Ref HQ 1150.S73

Statistical Reference Index - Indexes A&T Ref Z7554.U5S79

Vital Statistics on American Politics - A&T Ref JK274.S74


 

 

 

INTERNET

Afrigeneas

Afrigeneas is a mailing list focused on genealogical research and resources in general and on African ancestry in particular. This page serves as a focal point for information about African‑ancestored families and for pointers to genealogical sources worldwide.

Access: http://www.msstate.edu/Archives/History/afrigen/

Afro-American Newspapers, Baltimore, MD

News articles and related materials on black american history.

Access: http://www.afroam.org/index.html

American Memory Collection is the online resource compiled by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program.  With the participation of other libraries and archives, the program provides a gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.

            Access: http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ammemhome.html

Amnesty International is a worldwide campaigning movement that works to promote all the human rights enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international standards.

            Access: http://www.amnesty.org/

EducationWorld - Here you will find over 1000 ORIGINAL Reviews of sites selected by the staff at Education World as some of the best on the World Wide Web!

            Access: http://www.education-world.com/awards/past/

Index to World History Compass

470 Links to history sites on the Web the World over.

Access: http://www.lexiconn.com/lis/schcomp/whl/whlindex.htm

MEL: United States History Resources

Internet Resources for Students of Afro‑American History.United States History Resources. United States Department of Labor (History of the Department).

Access: http://mel.lib.mi.us/humanities/history/HIST‑us.html

Scout Report Signpost - The Internet Scout Project, which is funded through the National Science Foundation and is located in the University of Wisconsin-Madison's Computer Sciences Department, is charged with assisting in the development of resource discovery on the Internet. The Scout Report Signpost contains only the best Internet resources, as chosen by the editorial staff of the Scout Report, which have been cataloged and organized for efficient browsing and searching. Signpost, which debuted in June of 1997, is a proof-of-concept and is designed to guide U.S. higher education to quality electronic resources. The majority of resources reviewed are free and freely accessible

            Access: http://www.signpost.org/signpost/  

State Department is the lead U.S. foreign affairs agency.  It advances U.S. objectives and interests in shaping a freer, more secure, and more prosperous world through formulating, representing, and implementing the President’s foreign policy.  The Secretary of State, the ranking member of the Cabinet and fourth in line of presidential succession, is the President’s principal adviser on foreign policy and the person chiefly responsible for U.S. representation abroad.

Access: http://www.state.gov/

 

PRIMARY RESOURCES ON THE WEB

 

This is a select list of primary documents on the web.

 

Address of a Convention of Negroes held in Alexandria, Virginia, August 1865

            Access: http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/D/index.htm#1851

American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology (Works Progress Administration [WPA])

Access: http://xroads.virginia.edu/~hyper/wpa/reading.html)

Frederick Douglass, “Reconstruction,” Atlantic Monthly, December 1866

Access: http://www.theatlantic.com/unbound/flashbks/black/douglas.htm

 

 

 

 

 

 

This page is created and maintained by Donald Bradsher, Head of Reference.

North Carolina A&T State University.

Last Updated March 20,2002