
This guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist students in locating materials for the Communications course, Minorities in Media. This guide is general in its approach to finding materials and resources housed in the F.D Bluford Library and identifying and finding resources that may be on the Internet. It is not meant to be comprehensive. This guide is meant to help students organize their research as well as to give them tips on research strategy. Please come to the Reference Desk and talk with a Reference Librarian for assistance if needed.
Establishing what resources F.D. Library owns on your
subject should be your first priority.
To do this, you must search the INNOPAC, the online public access catalog (OPAC). The INNOPAC
can be searched via the original, text based interface or via the web browser
interface. Both versions can be
accessed from the library, any campus computer lab or from off campus via
remote access. The INNOPAC can be
searched by AUTHOR, TITLE, KEYWORD, JOURNAL TITLE,
and by SUBJECT HEADING. Do a keyword search if you do not know a
specific title or a standardized subject heading.
Use encyclopedias, handbooks, or dictionaries. Overviews or definitions of your topics are presented in concise entries or articles. More in depth analysis of your topic can be obtained from the bibliographies at the end of the articles or entries. The table of contents or index should be consulted for your topic.
Blacks in American Films and Television: an Encyclopedia – A&T Ref and A&T Black Studies PN 1995.9.N4.B58 1988
Encyclopedia of Associations - A&T Ref AS2.E5 1999
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance – A&T Ref HF5381.E52 1997
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film – A&T Ref PN 1993.5.C4253 1998
Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema – A&T Ref PN 1993.5.I8. R277 1994
Encyclopedia of Television - A&T Ref PN1992.18 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Television, Cable and Video – A&T Ref P87.5.R44 1991
History of the Mass Media in the United States: an Encyclopedia – A&T Ref P92.U5. H55 1998
Tune in Yesterday: The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Old Time Radio 1925 – 1976 - A&T Ref PN 1991.3.U6.D8
The Broadcast Dictionary – A&T Ref PN 1990.4.D5 1989
Career Guide: Dun’s Employment Opportunities Directory – A&T Ref HF5382.5.U5.D86
The Complete
Directory of Prime Time Network Shows 1946 - Present – A&T
Ref PN 1992.18.B68 1988
The Complete
Dictionary of Television and Film
– A&T Ref PN 1992.18.E57 1985
Handbook on Mass Media in the United States: the Industry and Its Audiences - A&T Ref P92.U5.H361994 1994
Occupational Outlook Handbook – A&T Ref HF5382.5U5036
Who’s What and Where: A Directory and Reference Book on America’s Minority Journalists – A&T Ref PN4882.5.J63 1988
American National Biography, v.1-v.24 – A&T Ref CT 213.A68 1999
Black Women in America, v.1-v.2 - A&T Ref E185.86.B542.1993
Contemporary Black Biography, v.1-v.23 – A&T Ready Ref E185.96.C66
Current Biography – A&T Ref CT100.C8 1943-
Dictionary of American Negro Biography – A&T Ready Ref E185.96.D53 1982
Encyclopedia of World Biography, v.1-v.18 – A&T Ref CT103.M27
The Adventures of Amos ‘n’ Andy: A Social History of an American Phenomenon – A&T Black Studies PN 1991.77.A6.E49 1991
African American Communications: An Anthology in Traditional and Contemporary Studies - A&T Black Studies p94.5.b55.W37 1993
Black Achievers in American Journalism – A&T Ref PN4871.W64 1995
Blacks and White TV: African Americans in Television since 1948 - A&T Black Studies PN 1992.8.A34.M3 1992
Broadcasting Freedom: Radio, War, and the Politics of Race – A&T Black Studies E185.61.S32 1999
Color by Fox: the Fox Network and the Revolution in Black Television - A&T Black Studies PN 1992.8.A34.Z66 1999
Culture Diversity and the U.S. Media – A&T Stacks P94.5.M552.U628 1998
Destination Freedom: Richard Durham’s Freedom’ Scripts from Radio’s Black Legacy, 1948-50 - A&T Stacks PN 120.N4.D87 1989
Entrepreneurs of Profit and Pride: from Black Appeal to Radio Soul - A&T Black Studies PN 1991.8.A35.N49 1988
Ethnic and Racial Images in American Film and Television - A&T Ref PN 1995.9.M56.W65 1987
Living Color: Race and Television in the United States – A&T Stacks PN 1992.8.M54.L58 1998
Race, Multiculturalism & the Media: From Mass to Class Communication - A&T Stacks P94.5.M552.U69 1995
Raising Her Voice:African American Women Journalists Who Changed History - A&T Ref PN4872.S661994
Television Almanac – A&T Ref PN1992.15.I61 1983
Voice Over: the Making of Black Radio – A&T Black Studies PN1991.8.A35.B37 1999
Women in Mass Communication – A&T Stacks
P94.5.W65.W67 1993
Books, handbooks, and encyclopedias do not contain the most recent research on your topic. You should consider using the print and/or electronic indexes for this current research. To obtain a comprehensive bibliography, you may need to consult more than one index or format.
Biography and Genealogy Index – A&T Ref CT214.B4995
Business Periodicals Index – A&T Ref Indexes Z7164.C81
CQ Researcher – A&T Ref H35.E35
Facts on File – A&T Ref D410.F3
Index to Black Periodicals - A&T REF INDEXES AI3 .O4
Index to Periodical Articles By and About Blacks - A&T REF INDEXES AI3 .O4
Kaiser Index to Black Resources, 1948-1986,v.1-v.6 – A&T Ref E185 .K34 1992
Public Affairs Information Service – A&T Ref Indexes
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature – A&T Ref Indexes
Current Issues (CD-ROM)
Discovering Careers and Jobs (CD-ROM)
International Index to Black Periodicals
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
North Carolina Newsstand Provides
full-text coverage of the Greensboro News & Record, Wilmington Morning Star,
and the Raleigh News & Observer,
plus selected coverage of other regional sources.
Academic Search Full Text Elite
Broadcasting & Cable
Communication Arts
Communication Education
Communication Monographs
Communication Quarterly
Communication World
Communications
Communications News
Critical Studies in Mass Communication
Educational Communication and Technology
General Linguistics
International Review of Applied Linguistics
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Journal of Communication
Journalism Educator
Journalism Quarterly-Surface Mail
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Public Relations Journal
Public Relations Quarterly
Public Relations Review
Sightlines-(American Film & Video Association)
Southern Communication Journal
Telecommunications
Telecommunications (International Edition)
Writer-Boston
American Women in Radio and Television http://www.awrt.org/
Asian CineVision http://www.asiancinevision.org/
Asian Media Information & Communication Centre http://www.amic.org.sg/amic/amictop.html
Association for Women in Communications http://www.womcom.org/
Black Awareness in Television
Cable Telecommunications Association http://www.catanet.org/
Campaign for Press and Broadcasting Freedom http://www.cpbf.demon.co.uk/index.htm
Hispanic Organization of Latin Actors
National Association of African-American Sportswriters and Broadcasters
National Association of Black Journalists - http://www.nabj.org/
National Association of Hispanic Publications - http://www.ael.org/eric/maed/ma032.htm
National Black Owned Broadcasters Association
National Federation of Hispanics in Communications
The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual – A&T Ready Ref PN4783.A83 1998
MLA Style http://www.mla.org
Go the F.D. Bluford
web page; look for the category Departments; click on Reference; click on Electronic Ready Reference. On the Electronic Ready Reference Index
page, scroll down the list and click on Electronic Style Guides. There you will find other style guides for
citing internet sites.
This page is
created and maintained by Gloria Pitts, Reference Librarian
Last Updated February 22, 2000