
COMMUNICATIONS
News Writing
This guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist students in locating materials for the Communications courses, News Writing and Public Affairs Reporting. This guide is general in its approach to finding materials and resources housed in the F. D. Bluford Library and identifying and finding resources that may be on the Internet. It is not meant to be comprehensive. This guide is meant to help students organize their research as well as to give them tips on research strategy. Please come to the Reference Desk and talk with a Reference Librarian for assistance if needed.
Using the INNOPAC
Establishing what resources F.D. Library owns on your subject should be your first priority. To do this, you must search the INNOPAC, the online public access catalog (OPAC). The INNOPAC can be searched via the original, text based interface or via the web browser interface. Both versions can be accessed from the library, any campus computer lab or from off campus via remote access. The INNOPAC can be searched by AUTHOR, TITLE, KEYWORD, and SUBJECT HEADING. Do a keyword search if you do not know a specific title or a standardized subject heading.
Beginning Your Research
Use encyclopedias, handbooks, of dictionaries. Overviews or definitions of your topics are presented in concise entries or articles. More in depth analysis of your topic can be obtained from the bibliographies at the end of the articles or entries. The table of contents or index should be consulted for your topic.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedias are also a good place to start, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic. Articles in encyclopedias are often written by recognized authorities and tend to provide established facts and ideas about the topic, its history, basic theories, and important persons who have written related articles. Also, most encyclopedia articles close with a bibliography that may help you to establish your literature search.
Note: When using encyclopedias, first consult the index volume, usually the last volume of the set. This will tell you if your topic has an article devoted entirely to it or if it is discussed within an article on a related subject.
Encyclopedia of Associations - A&T Ref AS2.E5 1999
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance – A&T Ref HF5381.E52 1997
Encyclopedia of Television - A&T Ref PN1992.18 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Television, Cable and Video – A&T Ref P87.5.R44 1991
Encyclopedia of Television News – A&T Ref PN 4888.T4 .E53 1999
History of the Mass Media in the
Prime Time Religion: an Encyclopedia of Religious Broadcasting – A&T Stacks BV656.M45 1997
BIOGRAPHIES, YEARBOOKS, HANDBOOKS and DICTIONARIES
Biographies, yearbooks and handbooks and dictionaries can help you throughout your research by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas. Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in political science.
American National Biography – A&T Ref CT213 A68
Biography and Genealogy Master Index – A&T Ref CT214B4995
Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook – A&T Ref HE 8689.B77 1997
Career Guide:Dun’s Employment Opportunities Directory – A&T Ref HF5382.5.U5.D86
Dictionary of Communication and Media Studies – A&T Ref P87.5.W38 1997
Dictionary of Media Literacy – A&T Ref P91.3.S527 1997
Handbook on Mass Media in the
Literary Journalism: a Biographical Dictionary of Writers and Editors – A&T Ref PN4820.A66 1996
Occupational Outlook Handbook – A&T Ref HF5382.5U5036
Who’s Who Among African Americans – A&T Ref E185.96W56
Who’s Who in
BOOKS
The Complete Idiot’s Almanac of Business Letters and Memos – A&T Ref HF57518.3 G674
A Guide to Preparing Cost Effective Press Releases – A&T Stacks HD59.L64 1993
Mass Media Writing – A&T Stacks P96.A86.P37 1992
Media Writing: Preparing Information for the Mass Media – A&T Stacks PN4781.N344 1988
The More You Watch, the Less You Know: News Wars – A&T Stacks P90.S337 1997
News: Reporting and Writing – A&T Stacks PN4781.L67 1996
On Media Violence – A&T Stacks P96.V5.P68 1999
The Politics of News: the News of Politics – A&T Stacks P95.8.P655 1998
What the People Want From the Press – A&T Stacks PN4888.S6.S55 1997
When Good Journalists Do Bad Things [Videorecording] – A&T LRC PN4888.E8.W44 1994
Women in Mass Communication – A&T Stacks P94.5.W65.W67 1993
Library Resources for Finding Journal Articles and
News Stories
Books, handbooks, and encyclopedias do not contain the most recent research on your topic. You should consider using the print and/or electronic indexes for this current research. To obtain a comprehensive bibliography, you may need to consult more than one index or format.
PRINT INDEXES AND NEWS SOURCES
Business Periodicals Index – A&T Ref Indexes Z7164.C81
CQ Researcher – A&T Ref H35.E35
Facts on File – A&T Ref D410.F3
Public Affairs Information Service – A&T Ref Indexes
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature – A&T Ref Indexes
ELECTRONIC INDEXES
AP Multimedia Archive
Current Biography Illustrated
Discovering Careers and Jobs (CD-ROM)
Ethnic Newswatch
Lexis Nexis Academic
LexisNexis
Current Issues
Mergent Online (formerly FIS Online)
Newsbank
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
SAGE Full-Text Collections
Wilson Omnifile
NC LIVE
Academic Search Full Text Elite (EBSCO HOST)
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOHOST)
Info Trac Custom Newspapers
Newpaper Source (EBSCO HOST)
ProQuest Newspapers (ProQuest)
CD-ROMs are located in F.D. Bluford Library and are available on the stand-alone workstations. You must reserve time on a workstation by signing the clipboard at the Reference Desk. You cannot access them from home. If you want to search databases from a remote sight, connect to F.D. Bluford Library’s homepage: http://www.library.ncat.edu. and search its electronic databases.
JOURNALS
Broadcasting & Cable
Business Communications Review
Communication Arts
Communication Education
Communication Monographs
Communication Quarterly
Communication World
Communications
Communications News
Critical Studies in Mass Communication
CQ Weekly Report
Educational Communication and Technology
General Linguistics
International Review of Applied Linguistics
Journal of Broadcasting and Electronic Media
Journal of Communication
Journalism Educator
Journalism Quarterly-Surface Mail
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Public Relations Journal
Public Relations Quarterly
Public Relations Review
Sightlines-(American Film & Video Association)
Southern Communication Journal
Telecommunications
Telecommunications (International Edition)
Vital Speeches of the Day
Writer-Boston
PROFESSIONAL ORGANIZATIONS
American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE) http://www.asne.org
Asian Media Information & Communication Centre http://www.amic.org.sg/
Association for Progressive Communications http://www.apc.org/english/
Association for Women in Communications http://www.womcom.org/
Campaign for Press and Broadcasting Freedom http://keywords.dsvr.co.uk/freepress/index.html
Center for Investigative Reporting http://www.muckraker.org/
Fund for Investigative Journalism http://fij.org/
International Association of Business Communicators http://www.iabc.com
International Institute of Communications http://www.iicom.org/
National Cable Telecommunications Association http://www.ncta.com/
Newspaper Association of America http://www.naa.org/
Women in Cable and Telecommunications http://www.wict.org/
Internet News Sites
Use Netscape or Internet Explorer to search any of the following search engines for news related stories
Alta
Excite Headline News http://news.excite.com/index.html
Lycos News http://news.lycos.com/
Northwest Builders Network, World & National News http://www.nwbuildnet.com/nwbn/news.html
Yahoo News http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/
Newspapers
American Reporter http://www.american-reporter.com/
College Newspapers Online http://www.studyworld.com/college_newspapers_online.htm
Editor & Publisher http://www.mediainfo.com
Library of Congress-Newspaper and Periodical Reading Room http://lcweb.loc.gov/global/ncp/ncp.html
™
MediaFinder from
Oxbridge Communications http://www.mediafinder.com/index.cfm
Nando Times http://www.nandotimes.com/
National Enquirer http://www.nationalenquirer.com/
Newsdirectory.com http://www.ecola.com/
NewsLibrary http://www.newslibrary.com/
Newslink http://www.newslink.org
Newspaper Archives on the Web http://www.ibiblio.org/slanews/internet/archives.html
The Pulitzer Prizes http://www.pulitzer.org//index.html
University Wire http://www.uwire.com/
USA Today http://www.usatoday.com/
Wall Street Journal Interactive Edition http://wsj.com/
WashingtonPost.com http://washingtonpost.com/
News Wires
7am News Free Wire http://www.7am.com/wires/freewire.htm
Agence
AP Update_Newsday.com http://www.newsday.com/ap/topnewsx.htm
Associated Press News http://customwire.ap.org/dynamic/fronts/HOME
Baltic News Service http://www.bns.ee/
BNS
Business Wire http://www.businesswire.com/
ClariNet http://www.clari.net/
Drudge Report http://www.drudgereport.com/
Federal News Service http://www.fnsg.com/
Global Internet News Agency (GINA) http://www.webreference.com/headlines/gina/
Infocity, Italia http://www.infocity.it/
International Broadcasting Bureau (IBB) http://www.ibb.gov/
Itar-Tass Russian News Service http://www.itar-tass.com/english/
PBS Online http://www.pbs.org
Photo Itar-Tass http://www.phototass.com/eng/default.asp
PR Newswire Home Page http://www.prnewswire.com/
Reuters http://www.reuters.com
TASS.NET http://www.tass.net/
United Nations Foundation UNWire http://www.unfoundation.org/unwire/index.asp
The
US Newswires
AlterNet http://www.alternet.org/
Associated Press http://www.ap.org/
Scripps Howard News Service
http://www.shns.com/
United Press International (UPI) http://www.upi.com/
University of
Voice of
Wireless Flash http://flashnews.com
ABCNEWS.com US http://abcnews.go.com/sections/us/
FOX News http://www.foxnews.com/
MSNBC http://www.msnbc.com/news/
Time.com http://www.time.com/time
U.S. News & World Report Online http://www.usnews.com/usnews/home.htm
USA Today http://www.usatoday.com/
Voice of
White House News/Briefing Room http://www.whitehouse.gov/news/
World News
ABCNEWS.com International http://abcnews.go.com/sections/world/
Al-jazeera-news http://al-jazeera-news.com/
AllAfrica.com http://allafrica.com/
Arabic News http://www.arabicnews.com/ansub/index.html
Asia Times http://www.asiatimes.com/
Australian Broadcasting Corporation News http://www.abc.net.au/news/
BBC News http://news.bbc.co.uk/
The Black World Today http://www.tbwt.com
CAMERA http://www.camera.org/
Canada.com http://www.canada.com/
Central
CNN World http://www.cnn.com/WORLD/
EIN:
European Internet Network http://www.europeaninternet.com/
FOX News http://www.foxnews.com/
Inside China Today http://www.europeaninternet.com/china/
Interfax International http://www.interfax-news.com/
International Herald Tribune
http://www.iht.com/
ITN Online http://www.itn.co.uk
This Is
MSNBC http://www.msnbc.com/news/
One World Online http://www.oneworld.net/
Press Association NewsCentre http://www.pa.press.net/
Radio Free
Teletext on the Web http://www.teletext.co.uk/
Time.com http://www.time.com/time/world/
Times/Sunday Times http://www.Sunday-times.co.uk/
U.S. Department of State Press and Public Affairs http://www.state.gov/press/
United Arab Emirates-Khaleej Times Daily http://www.khaleejtimes.co.ae/
United Nations News Centre
http://www.un.org/News/
Voice of
World Business Review http://www.wbrtv.com/
World Radio Network Online
http://www.wrn.org/
Internet Sites for Mass Media
AJR: American Journalism Review http://www.ajr.org/
FAIR: Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting http://www.fair.org/ contains criticism of media performance.
Foundation for American Communication: FACSNET http://www.facsnet.org/ offers an array of services including Top Issues and summaries of the most recent decisions by the US Supreme Court
Internet Tools and Resources for Journalists http://www.journalism.sfsu.edu/www/internet/internet.htm
Investigative Reporters and Editors, Inc. http://www.ire.org/ is a grassroots nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of investigative reporting within the field of journalism.
Journalism Resources http://bailiwick.lib.uiowa.edu/journalism/ offers a dozen practical categories related to journalism
National Press Club Online http://npc.press.org/ offers categories that represent standard news values
NewsLink http://www.newslink.org
reviews the current state of affairs in
NewsWatch: A Consumer’s Guide to the News http://www.newswatch.org/ offers the news behind the news
Radio Days http://www.otr.com/index.html houses archives of entire shows
RobertNiles.com, Finding Data on the Internet: A Journalist’s Guide http://www.robertniles.com/ consists of “finding data” and “statistics every writer should know”; a one-stop site for journalists
Television News Archive: Vanderbilt University http://tvnews.Vanderbilt.edu allows user to study the history of the latter part of the 20th century
World Statesmen http://www.geocities.com/CapitolHill/Senate/2785/
News Services –Local
NC Newspapers http://www.ncpress.com/ncnewspapersonline.html
News & Record Online http://www.news-record.com/
CITING YOUR RESOURCES
The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual – A&T Ready
Ref PN4783.A83 1994
This page is created and maintained by Gloria Pitts, Reference Librarian Last Updated October 8, 2003jct