A SELECTIVE GUIDE TO PSYCHOLOGICAL  RESOURCES

 

This selective guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist the students in locating materials concerning general psychology. It outlines a general approach to finding materials and resources housed in the F.D. Bluford Library and also electronic sources that may be on the Internet or on CD-Roms.  This guide will help students organize their research and at the same time give them some tips on research strategy. Remember  that researching any topic can seem overwhelming.

 

Using the INNOPAC

 

Establishing what resources the library owns on the subject you are researching should be your first priority.  In order to find that information the student must use the online catalog called the INNOPAC in our library. The INNOPAC can be search by AUTHOR, TITLE, KEYWORD, JOURNAL TITLE and by SUBJECT HEADING.  If you are going to do a keyword search you can either enter a word that may appear in the title  or  in the description of the work.  If you are going to do a subject search you should use the Library of Congress Subject Headings located next to the computer workstations to help you determine the correct heading to use.  There are several other options on narrowing or limiting your search and on identifying similar titles.  Please refer to the INNOPAC Handout at the Information Center for more detailed instruction or ask for assistance from a Reference Librarian. 

 

Encyclopedias

 

Encyclopedias are also a good place to start, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic.  Articles in encyclopedias are often written by recognized authorities and tend to provide established facts and ideas about the topic, its history, basic theories, and important persons who have written related articles.  Also, most encyclopedia articles close with a bibliography that may help you to establish your literature search.

Note:  When using encyclopedias, first consult the index volume, usually the last volume of the set.  This will tell you if your topic has an article devoted entirely to it or if it is discussed within an article on a related subject.

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology & Counseling, 2nd Ed. – A&T Ref BF31 B25 1999

Companion encyclopedia of Psychology – A&T Ref BF 31 C66 1994

Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology – A&T Ref BF 31 E553 1996

Encyclopedia of Adult Development – A&T Ref BF724.5 E53 1993

Encyclopedia of Creativity – A&T Ref BF408 E53 1999

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior – A&T Ref BF31 E5 1994

Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence – A&T Ref BF431 E59 1994

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory – A&T Ref BF318 E53 1992

Encyclopedia of Mental Health – A&T Ref RA790 E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Occultism and Parapsychology – A&T Ref BF1047 E52

Encyclopedia of Psychology – A&T Ref BF 31 E52 1994

 

Handbooks and Dictionaries

 

Handbooks and dictionaries can help you throughout your research by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas.  The coverage in handbooks is generally limited to a specific area of information (such as political parties, governmental institutions, or cities of the United States), giving brief overviews with statistical data.  This information is usually more current than that in an encyclopedia.  Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, movement, or person in psychology.

Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can Take You – A&T Ref BF76 C38 1997

Computer Use in Psychology – A&T Ref BF79.5 S76 1992

The Dictionary of Psychology – A&T Ref BF31 C72 1999

Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology – A&T Ref BF31 R625 1998

Dictionary of Psychology – A&T Ref BF31 R43 1985

Graduate Study in Psychology – A&T Ref BF77 G73 1996

A Handbook for Data Analysis in the Behavioral Sciences – A&T Ref BF39 H26435 1992

Handbook of Child Psychology – A&T Ref BF721 N242 1998

Handbook of Educational Psychology – A&T Ref LB1051 H2354 1996

Handbook of General Psychology – A&T Ref BF121 W63

Handbook of Psychological Assessment  - A&T Ref BF176 G76 1997

The International Dictionary of Psychology – A&T Ref BF31 S83 1996

Library Use: A Handbook for Psychology – A&T Ref BF76.8 R43 1983

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association – A&T Ref BF76.7 P83 1994

A Student’s Dictionary of Psychology - A&T Ref BF31 S69 1993

Survey of Social Science: Psychology Series – A&T Ref BF31 S79 1993

Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms – A&T Ref Index Table Z695.1P7T48 1994

 

Indexes and Abstracts (Printed)

To locate articles that are pertinent to your research, you need to use indexes and abstracts to journal  and newspaper literature. 

Biography and Genealogy Master Index – A&T  Ref  Index Table 1 CT214 B4995

Book Review Digest – A&T Ref Indexes Z1219 C95

Book Review Index – A&T Ref Indexes Z1035 A1 B6

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography – A&T Ref Abstracts HQ750 A1 C47

Index Medicus – A&T Ref Indexes Z6666 I42

Psychological Abstracts – A&T Ref Abstracts BF1 P65

Resources In Education – A&T Ref Indexes L11 R28

Sociological Abstracts – A&T Ref Abstracts HM1 S67

Social Work Abstracts – A&T Ref Abstracts HV1 S6455

 

Electronic Resources (Fulltext Databases & Bibliographic Databases)

 

FULLTEXT

Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost - Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 1,000 journals, including 380 journals dating back to 1990.

Academic Universe (Lexis-Nexis) – Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical and reference information.

Health Source Plus: Nursing and Academic via EBSCOhost -  Provides abstracts and indexing for nearly 500 consumer health, nutrition and professional periodicals from 1984 to present

JSTOR  - Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost - Covers a wide variety of topics from about 3,100 magazines and journals from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from more than 1500 periodicals from 1990 to present

Statistical Universe -  Indexes statistical data produced by the U.S. government, by important international intergovernmental organizations, and by knowledgeable professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities. Includes indexing for the American Statistics Index (1973- ), the Statistical Reference Index (1980- ) and the Index to International Statistics (1983- ).  Coverage: Updated regularly.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHIC DATABASES

CINAHL (Nursing) via OCLC FirstSearch - Indexes articles appearing in 900 journals in 13 allied health disciplines, including nursing. Covers 1982 to present.

Clinical Reference Systems via EBSCOhost - Essays covering eight major health related subjects, including adult health, behavioral health, cardiology, drug and medication information, pediatric health, senior health, women's health and sports medicine.

Medline via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts -  Indexes articles from more than 3200 journals chosen for their importance to doctors, nurses, and other health professionals. Covers 1965 to present.

Online Citations via EBSCOhost - EBSCO Online Citations is a database of publisher-provided citations and table of contents information for titles that are mainly scientific, technological, or medical in nature.

PsycINFO (Psychology) via SilverPlatter PsycINFO - Indexes over 1300 journals in psychology and related disciplines from 1887 to present.

Social Sciences Citation Index From the Web of Science website  - Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Covers 1400 journals spanning 50 disciplines. Has searchable author abstracts. Can view article bibliographies and search cited references and authors.   Coverage: 1992- . Updated monthly.

WorldCat via OCLC FirstSearch -  Union catalog of materials held in libraries world-wide.

 

Journal List

 

Printed

Journals are located on the lower level of the library and current issues are located next to the service desk in alphabetical order.  Bound issues are arranged by call number.  Some titles are on microform.  Be sure to use the Innopac to determine the exact location and format of a particular title.

 

Adolescence

The American Journal of Psychology

The American Psychologist

Applied & Preventive Psychology: Journal of the American Association of Applied and Preventive Psychology

Behavioral Medicine

Behavioral Neuroscience

Behavioral Science

The British Journal of Educational Psychology

British Journal of Psychology

Bulletin of the Psychonomic Society

Child Development

Cognitive Psychology

Contemporary Psychology

Criminal Justice and Behavior

Current Psychological Research & Reviews

Developmental Review

Developmental Science

Health Psychology

Human Performance

The Industrial-Organizational Psychologisti

Infant Behavior & Development

Journal of Abnormal Psychology

Journal of Applied Psychology

Journal of Applied Behavior Analysios

Journal of Adult Development

The Journal of Black Psychology

Journal of Counseling Psychology

Journal of Comparative Psychology

Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology

Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry and Allied Disciplines

Journal of Clinical Psychology

Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology

Journal of Educational Psychology

Journal of Experimental Psychology: Animal Behavior Processes

Journal of Experimental Psychology: General

Journal of Experimental Psychology: Human Perception and Perforamnce

Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory and Cognition

Journal of General Psychology

Journal of Genetic Psychology

Journal of Instructional Psychology

Journal of Motor Behavior

Journal of Multicultural Counseling and Development

Journal of Nonverbal Behavior

The Journal of Psychology

Journal of Personality

Journal of Personality and Social Psychology

The Journal of Social Psychology

Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology

Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior

The Psychological Record Law and Human Behavior

Learning and Motivation

Literature and Psychology

Merrill-Palmer Quarterly

Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes

Perception & Psychophysics

Personality and Social Psychology Review

Personnel Psychology

Psychological Assessment

Psychology and Aging

Psychological Bulletin

Psychological Medicine

The Psychological Record

Psychological Reports

Psychological Review

Psychological Science: A Journal of the American Psychological Society

Psychonomic Bulletin & Review

Psychology in the Schools

Psychology & Marketing

Psychology of Women Quarterly

Psychology Today

Social Cognition

Social Psychology Quarterly

Teaching of Psychology

 

ONLINE

British Journal of Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1998-December 31, 1998

British Journal of Psychology  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

British Journal of Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Counselling Psychology Quarterly  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-December 31, 1997

Counselling Psychology Quarterly  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1997-present

 Counselling Psychology Quarterly  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Current Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: Unknown-present

Current Psychology  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: Unknown-present

Current Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: Unknown-present

Educational Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Educational Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: April 1, 1992-present

Genetic, Social & General Psychology Monographs  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-December 31, 1997

Genetic, Social & General Psychology Monographs  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-December 31, 1997

Genetic, Social & General Psychology Monographs  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-December 31, 1997

Journal of Black Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-December 31, 1994

Journal of Black Psychology  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Journal of Black Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-December 31, 1994

Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: September 1, 1993-August 30, 1996

Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost present

Coverage: January 1, 1995- 30.

Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-December 31, 1994

Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-December 31, 1994

Journal of General Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Journal of General Psychology  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: November 18, 1995-present

Journal of General Psychology  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1993-December 31, 1993

Journal of General Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Journal of Genetic Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Journal of Genetic Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: March 1, 1996-present

Journal of Humanistic Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: October 1, 1998-present

Journal of Humanistic Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Journal of Instructional Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Journal of Instructional Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1993-December 31, 1993

Journal of Language & Social Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Journal of Language & Social Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-June 1, 1998

Journal of Managerial Psychology  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost

            Coverage: January 1, 1990-present      

Journal of Occupational & Organizational Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Occupational & Organizational Psychology  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost 

Coverage: July 1, 1996-present

Journal of Occupational & Organizational Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology  from ABI Inform Global via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Parapsychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1991-present

Journal of Phenomenological Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Psychology Interdisciplinary & Applied  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1991-present

Journal of Psychology Interdisciplinary & Applied  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Journal of Psychology Interdisciplinary & Applied  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

            Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Journal of Reproductive & Infant Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-December 31, 1997

Journal of Social Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-present

Journal of Social Psychology  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Journal of Social Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-December 31, 1995

Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-September 1, 1996

Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: May 1, 1990-present

Personnel Psychology  from ABI Inform Global via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

 Personnel Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1998-present

Personnel Psychology  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1997-December 31, 1997

Personnel Psychology  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

Personnel Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Philosophical Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1995-August 31, 1997

Philosophical Psychology  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1993-present

Psychology Today  from ABI Inform Global via Bell & Howell ProQuest

Coverage: January 1, 1995-present

Psychology Today  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1994-present

Psychology Today  from Business Source Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

Psychology Today  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: October 12, 1998-July 12, 1999

Psychology Today  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1996-July 1, 1998

Psychology, Health & Medicine  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: June 1, 1996-present

Psychology, Health & Medicine  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1997-present

School Psychology Review  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: August 1, 1996-present

School Psychology Review  from Health Source Plus via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1990-present

School Psychology Review  from MasterFile Premier via EBSCOhost

Coverage: January 1, 1997-present

South African Journal of Psychology  from Academic Search Elite via EBSCOhost

Coverage: July 1, 1998-present

 

Internet Resources

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements - The Buros Institute of Mental Measurements has more than a half-century history of serving the public interest and advancing the field of measurement. By providing professional assistance, expertise, and information to users of commercially published tests, the Institute promotes meaningful and appropriate test selection, utilization, and practice. The Buros Institute encourages improved test development and measurement research through thoughtful, critical analysis of measurement instruments and the promotion of an open dialogue regarding contemporary measurement issues.

Access:  http://www.unl.edu/buros/

Classics in the History of Psychology is an effort to make the full texts of a large                 number of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines available on the World Wide Web.   There are now over 20 books and over 100 articles and chapters on-line. The site alsocontains links to over 170 relevant works posted at other sites.

Access: http://www.yorku.ca/dept/psych/classics/

Current Research in Social Psychology (CRISP) is a peer reviewed, electronic journal covering all aspects of social psychology. Publication is sponsored by the Center for the Study of Group Processes at the University of Iowa which provides free access to its contents. Authors retain copyright for their work. CRISP is permanently archived at the Library of the University of Iowa and at the Library of Congress. Beginning in April, 2000, Sociological Abstracts publishes the abstracts of CRISP articles.

            Access:  http://www.uiowa.edu/~grpproc/crisp/crisp.html

Internet Mental Health - Internet Mental Health is a free encyclopedia of mental health information.

Access: http://www.mentalhealth.com/fr01.html

National Center for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder - This website is designed to serve the diverse needs of a large array of interested audiences such as veterans and other survivors of  traumatic experiences, clinicians, researchers, journalists, family members, students, policymakers, lawyers, librarians, and other interested in understanding PTSD.

Access: http://www.ncptsd.org/

National Institute of Mental Health

Access: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

Online Psych - Online Psych gives you a variety of interactive tests, quizzes, and surveys to challenge, inform, intrigue, and educate you. You'll find everything from online screening tests for mental health issues to fun surveys about relationships.

Access: http://www.allhealth.com/onlinepsych/

PsychREF -This web guide and index contains extensive resources for undergraduate students & faculty interested in psychology. While oriented toward the needs & academic scope of Le Moyne College's Psychology Department, PsychREF™ should be helpful for students, teachers, health professionals, and researchers from any college or university setting.

Access: http://www.psychref.com

Psych Web - This Web site contains lots of psychology-related information for students and teachers of psychology.

Access: http://www.psychwww.com/

Social Psychology Network from Wesleyan University -  In these pages, you'll find more than 5,000 links to psychology-related resources.

Access: http://www.socialpsychology.org/

 

Associations & Societies

American Psychoanalytic Association

Access: http://www.apsa.org/

American Psychological Association

Access:  http://www.apa.org/

American Council of Learned Societies

            Access: http://www.acls.org/jshome.htm

American Psychological Society

Access:  http://www.psychologicalscience.org/

 

Citing Sources

Electronic Reference Formats  Recommended by the American  Psychological Association

Access:  http://www.apa.org/journals/webref.html

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association –  A&T Ready Ref BF76.7P33

 

 

 

 


This page is created and maintained by Donald Bradsher, Head Reference Librarian

Last updated September 4, 2000  - Copyright © 2000 by North Carolina A&T State University