A SELECTIVE GUIDE TO MATERIALS AND RESOURCES IN SPEECH AND COMMUNICATIONS

 

This selective guide contains a bibliography of titles and electronic resources that will assist the students in locating materials for Speech and Communications. It outlines a general approach to finding materials and resources housed in the F.D. Bluford Library and also electronic sources that may be on the internet or on CD-Roms.   This guide will help students organize their research and at the same time give them some tips on research strategy. Remember that researching any topic can seem overwhelming.

 

Using the INNOPAC

Establishing what resources the library owns on the subject you are researching should be your first priority.  In order to find that information, the student must use the INNOPAC, the online catalog in our library. The INNOPAC can be searched by AUTHOR, TITLE, KEYWORD, JOURNAL TITLE and by SUBJECT HEADING.  If you are going to do a keyword search you can either enter a word that may appear in the title or in the description of the work.  If you are going to do a subject search you should use the Library of Congress Subject Headings located next to the computer workstations to help you determine the correct heading to use.  There are several other options on narrowing or limiting your search and on identifying similar titles.  Please refer to the INNOPAC Handout at the Information Center for more detailed instruction or ask for assistance from a Reference Librarian. 

 

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias are also a good place to start, especially if you are unfamiliar with the topic. 

Articles in encyclopedias are often written by recognized authorities and tend to provide established facts and ideas about the topic, its history, basic theories, and important persons who have written related articles.  Also, most encyclopedia articles close with a bibliography that may help you to establish your literature search. Encyclopedias of speaking may also provide excellent sources for elements and examples in speech writing.

Note:  When using encyclopedias, first consult the index volume, usually the last volume of the set.  This will tell you if your topic has an article devoted entirely to it or if it is discussed within an article on a related subject.


 

Complete Speaker’s and Toastmaster’s LibraryA&T Ref PN 4121 B68 1992

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics - A&T REF   P29 .E48 1994

Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and CompositionA&T Ref PN 172 E53 1996

Encyclopedia of School Humor : Icebreakers, Classics, Stories, Puns & Roasts for All OccasionsA&T Ref PN 4193 I5 M28 1987

International Encyclopedia of CommunicationsA&T Ref P 87.5 I5 1989

International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsA&T Ref P 29 I58 1991

Lifetime Encyclopedia of LettersA&T Ref PE 1485 M43 1992

Speaker's Encyclopedia of Stories, Quotations, and AnecdotesA&T Ref PN 6081.B68

Speaker’s Lifetime LibraryA&T Ref PN 4193 I5 S64 1997

 

Handbooks and Dictionaries


Handbooks and dictionaries can help you throughout your research by providing quick, factual information that you may need to support your ideas. Furthermore, often handbooks have brief instructions, guides, quotations, and examples that may be useful for you to implement into your work.   Dictionaries provide brief entries that are quick and helpful sources for the definition or identification of a term, quote, or person.

 

African American QuotationsA&T Ref PN 6081.3 A36 1998

Bartlett’s Familiar QuotationsA&T Ref PN 6081 B27 1992

Communication Disorders SourcebookA&T Ref RC 423 C644 1996

The Complete Guide to Public Speaking - A&T REF   PN4121 .D37 2003  

Coursebook on Scientific and Professional Writing for Speech-Language PathologyA&T Ref RC 423 H3829 1998

Dictionary of Media and Communication StudiesA&T Ref P 87.5 W38 2000

Dictionary of Linguistics and PhoneticsA&T Ref P 29 C65 1997

Effective Presentation: A Short Course for ProfessionalsA&T Ref PN 4193 L4 M27

Emily Post’s EtiquetteA&T Ref BJ 1853 P6 1997

Handbook of Child Language AcquisitionA&T Ref P 118 H348 1999

Handbook on StutteringA&T Ref RC 424 B54 1995

How to Be the Life of the PodiumA&T Ref PN 4193 I5 S493 1991

New Speaker’s HandbookA&T Ref PN 4193 I5 S64 1997

Public Speaker’s Treasure ChestA&T Ref PN 4193 I5 P7

Quotations for Public SpeakersA&T Ref PN 4193 I5 Q68 2001

Reference Manual for Communicative Sciences and DisordersA&T Ref RC 423 K46 1994

The Stammering Handbook : a definitive guide to coping with a stammer - A&T REF  RC424 .L49 1997

Speech-Language Pathology Desk ReferenceA&T Ref RC 423 R586 1998

 

Indexes and Abstracts (Online & Printed)

To locate articles that are pertinent to your research, you need to use indexes and abstracts to journal and newspaper literature.  The printed indexes and abstracts are located in the Reference Collection by call number.  The CD-ROMS are located behind the Reference Desk and must be checked out from the desk.  Internet accessible products or web databases are available via F.D. Bluford Library’s homepage: http://www.library.ncat.edu

 

Academic Search Full-Text Elite - NCLive – Web

Provides some full-text articles, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 3,200 scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subject areas from 1984 to present

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography

A&T Ref Abstracts  HQ750.A1C47

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection - Web

Includes 16 journals covering such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.

Dsh Abstracts

            A&T Ref Abstracts RF1 .D81

Education Full-Text – Wilson Omni-File Mega – Web

This database is the electronic equivalent of the internationally known Education Index.  Indexing coverage includes education related books since 1995, article abstracting coverage begins with 1994, and full-text coverage begins in 1996.

Education Index

A&T Ref Indexes Z5813E23

InfoTrac One FileNCLive - Web

             Provides one-stop access to full-text articles on a variety of disciplines and topics.

.Lexis-Nexis Academic  - Web

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. It couples the convenience of the Internet with the power of LEXIS®-NEXIS® services so you can quickly and easily retrieve documents that meet your specific research needs.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - Cambridge Scientific Abstracts – Web

Provides abstracts and indexing covering language acquisition, language behavior, and linguistics topics from 1960 to present

Web of Science - Web

A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the sciences; it indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines

 

Journal List

The following is a list of selected journals, which are national research and professional publications.  Journals are located on the lower level of the library and current issues are located next to the service desk in alphabetical order.  Bound issues are arranged by call number.  Some titles are on microform.  Be sure to use the Innopac to determine the exact location and format of a particular title.

 


American Speech

Anthropological Linguistics

ASHA: Journal of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Communication Arts

Communication Education

Communication Monographs

Communication Quarterly

Communication World

Communications

Educational Communication and Technology

General Linguistics

IRAL: International Review of Applied Linguistics

Journal of Medical Speech-Language Pathology

Journal of Speech and Hearing Disorders

Journal of Speech and Hearing Research

Quarterly Journal of Speech

Seminars in Speech and Language

Southern Communication Journal

Speech Teacher

Vital Speeches of the Day


 

Government Documents


Government Documents cover a broad range of topics including criminal justice; laws and regulations; congressional hearings; Supreme Court opinions; and economic, demographic and agricultural statistics.  You can access our Government Documents Collection several ways:  through the Innopac Catalog using GPO Access; the printed Monthly Catalog housed in the Index Area; GPO on CD-ROM and using the Internet.  These items are classified by the Superintendent of  Documents Classification Scheme and must be retrieved using that call number.  The library's Government Documents Department is located on the lower level of the library.  On the first floor of the library is a workstation dedicated solely to accessing government documents using CD-ROMs or accessing governmental agencies through the Internet.

 

Statistical Sources

Statistics provide a factual basis for your ideas.  Most of the handbooks and electronic resources listed will give some general statistics.  The following resources can provide information on very specific topics, either giving the actual data or listing citations to books, articles, or reports that will have the needed information.

 

            Statistical Abstract of the United States     

A&T Ref HA202.A384 (Current edition on Ready Reference)

Statistical Abstract of the World

A&T Ref HA154.S68 (Current edition on Ready Reference)

Statistical Handbook on Adolescents in America

A&T Ref HQ796.S8237

Statistical Reference Index

                        Indexes A&T Ref Z7554.U5S79

 

Internet Resources

American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

ASHA is a professional organization for speech pathologists, audiologists, and pther professionals in speech fields. “ASHA's mission is to ensure that all people with speech, language, and hearing disorders have access to quality services to help them communicate more effectively.”

Access: http://www.asha.org/

Society for Research in Child Development

This is a multidisciplinary, not-for-profit, professional association with an international membership of approximately 5,000 researchers, practitioners, and human development professionals.

Access http://www.srcd.org  

Toastmasters International

Toastmasters is an international organization of speakers and people interested in public

speaking and related skills. Their site includes information and tips on public speaking.

Access: http://www.toastmasters.org/

 

NE/02.04.02, 9.26.03